Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Reigster at Microsoft Surface Forums
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member curney's Avatar
    Member
    #8839
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    51
    Member #
    8839
    Liked
    4 times

    Windows 7 on Surface Pro

    Hi folks!

    I have a 6 year old Fujitsu convertible laptop which I really want to retire and would love to get the surface pro however, my company does not support windows 8 but does support windows 7. Do you think it will be possible to load windows 7 on the Pro? Im guessing if I just try and load windows 7, there will be driver isssues. Also, my company will not support virtual machines... Thoughts?

    Thanks,
    Charlie

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Mr.NK's Avatar
    Member
    #6358
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    402
    Member #
    6358
    My Device
    RT
    Liked
    46 times
    Welcome to the forum. Could you specify, what you'll have to do at your company/what sort of programs you'll need?

  3. #3
    Banned ArnoldC's Avatar
    Member
    #7883
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    1,549
    Member #
    7883
    Liked
    112 times
    I'll offer you a better solution, pick one

    1. boot Windows 7 from VHD, keep your Windows 8 Pro
    2. use Hyper-V to run Windows 7

    if you need help in setting these up, just holler.



    ... i posted #2 in case the Surface is yours and you're not bound by the company restrictions.
    Last edited by ArnoldC; 02-08-2013 at 04:21 PM.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jnjroach's Avatar
    Member
    #7435
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Seattle, WA USA
    Posts
    1,980
    Member #
    7435
    My Device
    S2
    Liked
    411 times
    Or while at work remain in desktop mode and no one will notice
    Jeff Roach - Surface MVP, MCLC, MCT
    Surface Pro 2 (Work) Surface 2 (Fun and Work)

  5. #5
    Member curney's Avatar
    Member
    #8839
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    51
    Member #
    8839
    Liked
    4 times
    Thanks for the replies! To clarify, I am a franchise home inspector who owns my computer but is required to use the home offices inspection program. This program does not work in windows 8 and thats why im trying to look into 7. Most of my work is in the field. When I am inspecting a house I don't need to be and sometimes can't be on the internet so, doing some type of remote desktop is not an option.

    @ArnoldC aren't both of the options virtual machines? the Home Office said we could use virtual machines but didn't recommend it as there was a higher likelihood of data loos. I dont know enough about VMs to know if that is true or not. Also does the surface pro have enough RAM to do a virtual machine?

    It doesnt sound like 7 will work will it?

  6. #6
    Banned ArnoldC's Avatar
    Member
    #7883
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    1,549
    Member #
    7883
    Liked
    112 times
    @curney, boot from VHD is not virtual. You'll have a choice which to boot up. VHD does not require messing around with partitions and will be contained in a single VHD file, very easy to remove when you're done with it. You can even share the same libraries between Windows 8 and 7.

    As to the resistance to Hyper-V, i'm in no position to contest it, but for your purpose, it should be ok.

    My Acer S3 has native Windows 7 home as bundled, I have Windows 8 Enterprise boot from VHD (the reverse of what I am recommending). When Windows 8 is running, i have three virtual machines that i run in Hyper-V, one domain controller running Windows Server 2012, one Windows Server 2012 + SQL Server 2012, and one Windows Server 2012 core + SQL Server 2012 core. All on properly balanced 4GB of memory. More is better for me, of course.

    Last edited by ArnoldC; 02-08-2013 at 08:07 PM.

  7. #7
    Member curney's Avatar
    Member
    #8839
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    51
    Member #
    8839
    Liked
    4 times
    @arnoldc thank you very much for clarifying. I'm going to pick up my pro tomorrow and make sure that the hardware is everything that it is cracked up to be and right for my particular job. As soon as I know that I am going to keep it, I will get back with you and hopefully you can help me get this squared away. Thank you again for your advice. Cheers

  8. #8
    Banned ArnoldC's Avatar
    Member
    #7883
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    1,549
    Member #
    7883
    Liked
    112 times

    RE: Windows 7 on Surface Pro

    You're welcome.
    Sent from my Windows Phone 8S by HTC using Board Express

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jnjroach's Avatar
    Member
    #7435
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Seattle, WA USA
    Posts
    1,980
    Member #
    7435
    My Device
    S2
    Liked
    411 times
    If the software works on Windows 7 I see little chance that it won't work on Windows 8, it may take some compatibility Settings tweaks. but should work. Internal IT and ISVs are infamous for making these claims, typically its FUD.
    Jeff Roach - Surface MVP, MCLC, MCT
    Surface Pro 2 (Work) Surface 2 (Fun and Work)

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-08-2013, 03:34 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-03-2013, 01:46 PM

Search tags for this page

can i install windows 7 on surface pro
,
how to install windows 7 on surface pro
,
install windows 7 on surface
,

install windows 7 on surface pro

,
installing windows 7 on surface pro
,

surface pro windows 7

,
win 7 on surface pro
,

windows 7 on surface pro

Click on a term to search for related topics.