Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube
Reigster at Microsoft Surface Forums
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member Vanz's Avatar
    Member
    #9995
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    9995
    Liked
    1 times

    Cloning a Surface Pro?

    Hi, I have my Surface Pro all tweaked out with no bought software on it yet (lot's of free stuff installed), my wife's dad just bought a Surface Pro, he'd like to have it configured exactly like mine. So what I'd like to do it basically copy the HD from my Pro to his Pro.

    If these were PC's, I'd make an image of the c:\drive using Norton Ghost, then Ghost that image to PC#2, how can I do this for 2 Surface Pro's please?

    Thanks,

    Vanz

  2. #2
    Senior Member Nuspieds's Avatar
    Member
    #9202
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    449
    Member #
    9202
    My Device
    S2Pro
    Liked
    59 times
    The Surface Pro is a PC, in Tablet form; there is a C: drive; etc.

    I use Acronis TrueImage to take full system images, not to clone, but to restore. As with any system image backup software, you will need to test to make sure that it can truly take that full system image and then restore/clone it on your target machine.

    Even before I had the Surface Pro, I had numerous issues finding the right software that would be able to make that complete system backup and flawlessly restore. Software that worked on one PC didn't work my new PC (e.g., because of the hardware/disk configuration).

    They're supposed to be rebranding Ghost, so I'm not sure if it supports Windows 8, but no matter the software, just check and test.

    The Surface Pro is running Windows 8 Pro, so you can test and evaluate software as you would on any other PC.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Vanz's Avatar
    Member
    #9995
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    9995
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Nuspieds View Post
    The Surface Pro is a PC, in Tablet form; there is a C: drive; etc.
    Yeah, but I guess I'm wondering how I can boot to the Ghost (or other software) OS to perform the restore? Should I get a USB DVD drive or can I boot from the USB for the Surface Pro... or is there another way? I've only ever booted an OS from a HD or DVD Rom drive...

  4. #4
    Super Moderator J515OP's Avatar
    Member
    #68
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    2,194
    Member #
    68
    My Device
    RT
    Liked
    262 times
    Hi Vanz you can boot from USB or connected optical media. Try a search in the forum since this topic has been covered extensively and you will need to take consideration of the secure boot/UEFI issues to ensure you can properly boot and restore.

    Here are a couple of links to get you started.

    How I restored the Surface Disk Drive using Acronis Backup and Recovery

    Anyone successfully created a USB bootable recovery image with Acronis?
    Last edited by J515OP; 04-30-2013 at 06:20 PM.
    “Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them.” - Albert Einstein

    Need help navigating Windows? Try here: How To: Overview, Features and Navigate Windows Mouse and Touch

    Looking for apps? Try here: Windows App Stores

  5. #5
    Junior Member Vanz's Avatar
    Member
    #9995
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    9995
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by J515OP View Post
    Hi Vanz you can boot from USB or connected optical media. Try a search in the forum since this topic has been covered extensively and you will need to take consideration of the secure boot/UEFI issues to ensure you can properly boot and restore.

    Here are a couple of links to get you started.

    How I restored the Surface Disk Drive using Acronis Backup and Recovery


    Anyone successfully created a USB bootable recovery image with Acronis?
    Thanks Super Mod...

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

can you create a ghost image of microsoft surface
,
can you use arcronis to image a surface pro
,

clone surface pro

,

clone surface pro disk

,

cloning surface pro

,

how to clone surface pro

,

surface pro and system image

,
surface pro and system images
Click on a term to search for related topics.