2 Monitors on 1 Docking Station

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by MikeMerci, Nov 23, 2014.

  1. MikeMerci

    MikeMerci New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have bought the Surface Pro 3 Docking Station for mi i7 256. My Monitors are actual ones. But I cannot find a solution to connect both screens to the Docking Station as I am used to. Thanks, Michael
     
  2. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Here are two ways:
    1) You have access to two mini display ports - one on the docking station, and on the Surface. One for each monitor.
    2) An alternative solution.
     
    MikeMerci likes this.
  3. SgtCarrot

    SgtCarrot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    This is the dock that I have, it has two monitor ports, buy an adapter if you need to and you should be all set. Note: I did have to download and install the display link drivers to get this to work. Also, this means that your surface desktop will be duplicated to one of your non-touch screens.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834991648
     
    MikeMerci likes this.
  4. MikeMerci

    MikeMerci New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  5. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have set up one of my clients with two standard Acer dvi monitors connected to the SP3 like the first example Colorado mentions. I used two mini display port to DVI connectors. Works like a charm. I have used USB adapters in the past but I have never been a fan of trying to push video through a USB port. There is usually always a delay in the video doing it this way.
     
  6. MikeMerci

    MikeMerci New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    bluegrass - John Hotze,

    thanks for your comment. But I think that it is not a good way to buy an Original Docking Station and then connect one of the screens every time directly on the Surface. The only solution in my opinion which is right is come to your workspace, clik in the Surface and take it off whenever you need it without unplug other cables.

    Thanks, Michael
     
  7. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I guess it depends on how handy you are at plugging & unplugging one plug. If having two monitors besides the SP3 screen is important to you, I wouldn't concern myself with one plug.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2014
  8. Pyro515

    Pyro515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Currently right now I'm running 3 24in monitors connected to my Sp3. I have my main monitor running off of a Displayport to HDMI from the docking station and my two secondary monitors running off of this http://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Dual...16873000&sr=8-16&keywords=dvi+hdmi+to+usb+3.0
    It is a USB 3.0 to both a DVI and HDMI connector.

    I'll be honest, I am not the biggest fan of the USB to video connectors. I am currently researching this: http://www.sabrepc.com/club-3d-csv-5300h-sensevision-mst-3-hdmi-hub.html which will natively spit the displayport to up to 3 HDMI connectors. Unfortunately there has been other versions of this that have not worked with the SP3 (or SP2). Now those MST hubs were not a direct HDMI connector, so I have some hope that this will work, but I haven't decided to pay the $160 to figure it out. LOL!

    Mike
     
  9. spepi

    spepi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have 2 Acer V233HL monitors connected to Startech adapters - 1 USB and the other miniDisplay, plugged into my dock. It works perfect for what I need. I dont run any graphics intense programs. My SP3 is i7, 8GB, 512GB
     

    Attached Files:

  10. cheetahdriver

    cheetahdriver New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I am using an EV3A displayport hub to connect 3 screens in one location and 2 screens in another location (different dock). The only problem that I have had with the system is that in the second location I was having issues with reboot in sleep and loss of the displayport screens. I found that the Dell Displayport cables included with the monitors appeared to be the problem. When I replaced the cables (after swapping durn near everything else), the issues stopped. The 3 monitor setup is not having this problem, but I plan on proactively replacing those cables as well. Using this system I have pretty much dumped my desktop (now using it to test Win10), and use the docked SP3 with a dasKeyboard, 3 screens and a trackball. I have used Microstation CAD on it, without issue. In the other location I have a Filco keyboard, mouse and 2 screens+the SP3 screen.
     
  11. alissaknight

    alissaknight New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hey, thanks for the thread on this guys. I was wondering how people were achieving 3 monitors with the SP3 + docking station. So I guess basically, you guys are all using the USB > HDMI converters from Plugable. Going to give this a try!
     
  12. alissaknight

    alissaknight New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro3
    @MikeMerci if I'm a paid blogger than someone owes me money.
    :confused:
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
2 monitor docking station
,

connect 2 monitors to surface pro 3 dock

,

connect 3 monitors to surface pro 3 docking station

,

connect monitor to surface docking station

,
connecting monitors to new surface pro dock
,

connecting two monitors to surface pro dock

,
docking station surface cannot connect to the monitor
,
surface pro 4 docking station dual monitors will not connect
,
surface pro dock fails to connect two monitors
,
want to connect 3 monitors to my surface pro 3 with a dock