3G USB Adaptor with Surface Pro

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by paulhk88, Jul 3, 2013.

  1. paulhk88
    Offline

    paulhk88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Sufrace Pro 128GB. I plugged in a D-Link DWM-156 (A3) 3G USB adaptor and installed the Connection Manager, but the driver is incompatible. Could anyone tell me how and where to get the driver for Windows 8? Thanks.
  2. Nuspieds
    Offline

    Nuspieds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Is this a used adapter or what? You didn't get any manuals/documentation?

    Anyway, just do an internet search and you will end up here:

    D-Link UK | DWM-156 3.75G HSUPA USB Adapter

    Then click on the "Downloads" tab.
  3. paulhk88
    Offline

    paulhk88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a working unit. I have been using it on my 3G router with no problem. I have seen some posts that it needs a Windows 8 driver but have not been able to locate it so far.
  4. Nuspieds
    Offline

    Nuspieds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    My question was how come you don't have the driver? Products often come with a CD and/or they come with documentation that indicates how to download and/or documentation indicating that it is plug-and-play with the OS. Yours indicates that it is Windows 8 compatible. Perhaps you need the firmware update. Anyway, there's definitely a lot of info on the D-Link site.

    As an aside, I've had devices that did not auto-detect in Windows and sometimes I've simply had to a reboot and start Windows fresh.
  5. ltcbob11
    Offline

    ltcbob11 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    @Nuspieds. I am sure you didn't intend to come across as attacking the OP, but it sure seems as if you are. In my experience many of the CDs that come with my peripherals are outdated and require going online to find the most current drivers. Perhaps the OP is not as computer literate as you and I. Rather than scare these folks away, maybe we can encourage them and help them succeed.
  6. paulhk88
    Offline

    paulhk88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I had the CD that came with it. I had installed the driver with earlier versions of windows and it worked fine. However, the driver does not work with Windows 8. I am trying to see if anyone had come across the driver for Windows 8.
  7. Nuspieds
    Offline

    Nuspieds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    By doing my own search and providing the link and instructions to the download material, I am attacking and discouraging?

    By requesting clarification on exactly why the OP doesn't have the drivers when they can easily be found online at the vendor's site/the link I provided, I am attacking and discouraging?

    By relating past experiences and suggestions to reboot Windows as a possible solution, I am attacking and discouraging?

    There are many people in online forums who like to respond with "RTFM." I'm not one of them.
  8. ltcbob11
    Offline

    ltcbob11 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    @Nuspieds,

    I wasn't trying to attack you. I am just pointing out how typed words can come across different than we mean them to.

    I am not familiar with RTFM. What does the acronym mean?
  9. ltcbob11
    Offline

    ltcbob11 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    @Nuspied,

    Never mind. I just googled RTFM. Although the "F" was shown as FINE, I am sure most folks use another word. Lol
  10. Nuspieds
    Offline

    Nuspieds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    The vendor Overview page clearly indicates that they are Windows 8 compatible so clearly, according to them, it should work.

    Again, make sure you try that reboot; sometimes Windows does that. Furthermore, to reiterate my point about the firmware installation, sometimes the manufacturer's install utility will recognize the device, even though Windows/some apps may not, so you definitely need to try and download the firmware and try the install. As an example, I once had problems with a monitor and the vendor's driver/firmware update utility was able to see it, but not Windows. If that's the case for you, it will be worthwhile to try to firmware patch.
  11. Nuspieds
    Offline

    Nuspieds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I know you weren't trying to attack me and all the more reason because typed words, not being the same as spoken words, must be taken into context and history before drawing a conclusion.

    I expected you to find out for yourself what RTFM meant, so I deliberately waited. :)
  12. paulhk88
    Offline

    paulhk88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will try updating the firmware and see... Thanks.
  13. Nuspieds
    Offline

    Nuspieds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I recommend you be prepared to do more than that. I've been in similar situations and, unfortunately, sometimes forum members are unable to help.

    Also, some vendors will state "Windows 8 Compatible" and then it turns out that not all variations are supported (e.g., only 32-bit). On the D-Link site for the device, you see the Windows 8 Compatible logo, but not much else specifically referencing Windows 8. Anyway, my point being that especially when you are getting the sense that forums members are not able to help, then you should also submit a trouble ticket to the vendor using their Support page.
  14. mitchellvii
    Online

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    290
    Location:
    Denial
    Don't attack me for attacking you but I am feeling quite attacked by the attackiness of this attack thread. :)

    baby-attack.jpg
  15. starLog
    Offline

    starLog New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the pc business, we always go to the manufacturers website to download drivers.
    Why?

    Because the CD could be older then the latest website software.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
3g surface pro
,
3g for surface pro 2
,
3g support surface pro 2
,
how to install dwm-156 to surface 2
,
is surface pro 2 3g
,
microsoft surface pro 2 3g
,
surface 2 3g
,
surface 2 pro 3g
,
surface 2 pro 3g adapter
,
surface 2 pro 3g?
,
surface 2 usb 3g
,
surface 3g adapter
,
surface 3g usb
,

surface pro 2 3g

,
surface pro 2 3g?
,
surface pro 2 usb 3g
,
surface pro 3g
,
surface pro2 3g
,
usb 3g adapter surface pro 2
,
usb 3g connection for surface 2