Solved 5GHz Wifi

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Caoimh1n, Sep 10, 2014.

  1. Caoimh1n

    Caoimh1n New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Ireland
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi everyone, I was wondering if anyone else was having issues connecting to 5GHz networks? My SP3 will connect fine to my 2.4GHZ but, although it can see it, flat out refuses to connect to my 5GHz.

    I am living in Ireland but bought my Surface in the U.S. Would this have anything to do with it? I have tried transmitting on different channels, and even set the router's wireless network as U.S, but still no go.

    My router is a Netgear DS6200 and all updates have been applied to my Surface.
     
  2. gdir

    gdir Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    My Device:
    SPro3
    My SP3 uses 5 GHz 802.11n without any problems. My two access points are a FritzBox 7390 and a FritzBox 3370. I can't look up the channels at the moment, but I used something in the middle.
     
  3. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,851
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    My SP3 does best with 5GHz, though 2.4 is fine. I'm guessing you have interference from other devices, such as microwave communications.
     
  4. double07

    double07 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have been using my SP3 with 5Ghz since day one. I am using Netgear R7000. Were you able connect any other device to your router on 5Ghz band?
     
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,099
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Use 5GHz everyday on my Netgear R7000 AC Router....
     
    ctitanic likes this.
  6. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Same here.
     
  7. raqball

    raqball Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    156
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    California
    My Device:
    SPro4
    x3.. Works great on my unit.
     
  8. null4end

    null4end Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Using 5GHx on my Ubiquiti access points as well. No issues connecting or roaming between APs.
     
  9. FlySwatter

    FlySwatter Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Georgia
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I also use 5ghz daily, and the speed difference between it and 2.4 is very significant. I use a Western Digital N900 router.
     
  10. elixir

    elixir Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    all good here 5GHz with Linksys WRT1900AC, connecting at 866.5 Mbps most of the time. I'm using i7 512GB
     
  11. Caoimh1n

    Caoimh1n New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Ireland
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks everyone for your replies. As it turns out, the issue was actually with my router. For some reason it wouldn't allow connections on the 5GHz band. I reflashed the firmware and bingo, now connected to the 5GHz network!

    Feel a bit silly now blaming my Surface. Loving it so far.
     
    FlySwatter and raqball like this.
  12. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It is a complicated issue, wireless stuff is often difficult to troubleshoot.

    I have been hearing that a lot of the remaining WiFi issues are probably due to wireless router or AP issues, and yours seems to be proving that idea correct.
     
    Caoimh1n likes this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
surface 3 5ghz
,
surface 5ghz issue
,
surface 5ghz wifi
,
surface book wifi 5ghz
,
surface pro 3 5ghz wifi
,

surface pro 3 5ghz wifi issues

,
surface pro 3 fritzbox
,

surface pro 3 wifi 5ghz

,
surface pro 5ghz wifi
,
surface3 5ghz net working