8/12 firmware update says succeeded, but not applied??

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by foghat, Aug 16, 2014.

  1. foghat

    foghat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hey all,

    Installed the 8/12 firmware update on both my wife's surface and my surface. On my surface, I see the new touchpad options under 'Mouse and touchpad' settings.

    However, on my wife's surface the new options are not there.

    Looking at the update history on her surface, it shows a Status of succeeded for the firmware update.

    Any idea what could be going on or how I can rectify?
     
  2. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Try rebooting it. I know that sounds too easy but give it a try. Also I've noticed there's a weird variance when surface updates are received on a client.
     
  3. Zog1971

    Zog1971 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Columbia, Missouri, USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I had to reboot twice after the updates for it to go into effect, for some reason.
     
  4. foghat

    foghat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ya, I should have mentioned I have rebooted about 4 or 5 times now.

    No go. Is there a way to reinstall?
     
  5. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yep, I didn't get that option either and due to another problem have rebooted a number of times as well.
     
  6. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Kind of the same with me, was weird. Even though after the updates were done I manually rebooted my SP3 twice for various reasons, the updates didn't apply until I actually clicked the "reboot now" button from within the Windows Update dialog.
     
  7. foghat

    foghat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface pro 3 firmware not applied