Ad-Hoc connection working (Workaround...)

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Billy64, Nov 1, 2014.

  1. Billy64

    Billy64 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Finally I achieve to connect my SP3 to Internet through Adhoc Wifi tethering with my Galaxy S4 (using Android Barnacle App)

    The solution is not perfect because I had to buy a USB Wifi Dongle , (NETGEAR G54/150 Wifi USB Micro Adapter) but it is very cheap, 16€ (at the FNAC shop) and very small (16x7x7mm).

    I used this method https://social.technet.microsoft.co...46fa/windows-81-connecting-to-ad-hoc-networks


    But with the Inboard MARVELL AVASTAR Wifi card it was impossible to connect

    when I use only the inboard Marvell card and I type
    >netsh wlan show networks

    I can see my ad-hoc network but when I type
    >netsh wlan set profileparameter <MySSID> connectiontype=ibss

    I always have the message "Can't find <MySSID> on interfaces":-(


    When I do the same operation with the NETGEAR Wifi Dongle it works!!!!



    Hope this helps,... and avoid you to waste your time trying to solve things that were working perfectly on previous Windows Versions (until 7)
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Nicola

    Nicola Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It's not an issue with the OS, while it seems to be related to the Marvell chip drivers.
    Of course, yours is not a real solution.
     
  3. olimjj

    olimjj Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Where no man has gone before.
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Its called a workaround.
     
  4. Billy64

    Billy64 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Yes I know it's not an issue with the OS and it 's problem of Marvel chip , but the OS doesn't helps in simplifying
    things, WHY Microsoft removed the Ad-Hoc, it was so simple in Windows 7?

    I agree with you it not a real solution , but meanwhile I can travel and stay connected.

    I only want to to share experience with a device which is working, nothing else.
    Hope someone find a "real Solution" soon
     
  5. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It may not be as elegant as a $3000 call girl but it seems real enough and gets the job done. :)
     
    Billy64 likes this.
  6. Billy64

    Billy64 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    ;-) My "other girl" is only 1.250€/$ (SP3 i5 256GB)

    But what I don't understand is why in a 1250€/$ device they can't include a 16€/$ device that do the job.. :-(
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
ad hoc network surface pro
,
ad hoc on surface pro 3
,
adhoc device not working surface pro tethertinf
,
marvel avastar adhoc network
,
marvell avastar ad hoc
,
sp3 ad hoc network surface pro 3
,
surface book ad hoc
,

surface pro 3 ad hoc network

,
surface pro 3 ad hoc network sp3
,
surface pro adhoc