What's new

Advice for buying a Surface

Deb20

Hello!
I am currently looking into buying a Surface. I was hoping to have a bit of help on which one I should purchase. I am currently a web designer and need plenty of space for Dreamweaver, Photoshop, Flash, other design programs, also iTunes and music. What size do you think I should get? Thank you so much.

EMINENT

Hello!
I am currently looking into buying a Surface. I was hoping to have a bit of help on which one I should purchase. I am currently a web designer and need plenty of space for Dreamweaver, Photoshop, Flash, other design programs, also iTunes and music. What size do you think I should get? Thank you so much.

Pro 2 and storage is of no concern if you have less than 200gb as that comes free with Onedrive. If you need the space for programs, then get one accordingly to your must have program needs.

Personally, I have all my music, photos, docs, stored on Onedrive, accessible anywhere there's a connection. I use an external backup of course and videos are on an external too that get served from my desktop through Plex. I only have the Surface 2 because I don't need the grunt and weight of pro with me all the time. For all the minor work I do, I remote into my desktop.

No itunes for me and I will never install it again. I can stream anything through Onedrive and Xbox music scrapes my music folder. Same on my Lumia 920 with Skymusic app.

Last edited:

oion

Just keep in mind that the Onedrive 200GB deal is only for one year, and after that you have to pay a subscription. Having a portable HDD if you have particularly large and many files may be more efficient and/or cheaper, depending on your needs.

tarrant64

Just keep in mind that the Onedrive 200GB deal is only for one year, and after that you have to pay a subscription. Having a portable HDD if you have particularly large and many files may be more efficient and/or cheaper, depending on your needs.