After going back to 8.1 Context menu is odd

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Ryuuji, Aug 2, 2015.

  1. Ryuuji

    Ryuuji Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germany
    My Device:
    SPro3
    So I wasn't to happy with Windows 10 on my Surface Pro 3, so i went back to 8.1, but my antivirus did't work anymore (neither uninstall nor installation was possible) and some apps did't start (Mail, calendar, weather and picture)
    I couldn't open them anymore, uninstall was possible trough the control panel, but I couldn't re-download them trough the store as it said they where already installed.

    So I installed windows new trough the restore (delete everything and install windows new). Everything works fine, I installed all the updates, but the context menu on the windows is odd.

    [​IMG]

    The menu is dark blue now, not white like before how can I fix this?
     
  2. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I know this won't help now but I had the same issue with the mail and calender app. After you uninstall, shut the store completely down by dragging from the top of the screen to the bottom and wait for it to flip. When you restart the store it will recognize it isn't installed anymore. Not sure what is up with the restore though. Maybe try restoring again.
     
  3. Ryuuji

    Ryuuji Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germany
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thanks. But I already restored everything.

    I would like to avoid this, as I just finished updating and installing most of my programs and settings. Also my surface runs smooth, is fast and I don't have any other problems, except the blue colored context menu.
     
  4. Ryuuji

    Ryuuji Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germany
    My Device:
    SPro3
  5. 79jonesy

    79jonesy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Mine has done exactly the same thing when I went back from W10. I did a fresh install when I realised but the menus are still the same. The best I have managed is setting the background colour and accent colour to a light grey in the personalise section when in the start screen and this changes the colour of the menus. Very odd.
     
  6. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Maybe the trial version of Start8 will fix it. You can change most anything with it. I guess if it does it's more of plastering over it than "FIXing" but changing it in Start8, even just toggling it, might work.
    http://www.stardock.com/products/start8/
     
  7. Ryuuji

    Ryuuji Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Germany
    My Device:
    SPro3
    At least I'm not the only one.

    Thanks GreyFox7 I will test this later.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

context menu dark blue