Android on SP3 - Bluestacks?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by ipaq_101, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. ipaq_101

    ipaq_101 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
  2. tuchas

    tuchas Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I installed Blue Stacks on my SP3. It runs a bit slow but mostly workable. If you pay for the service ($24/year) it's supposed to be much faster and ad-free.
     
  3. liftbikerun

    liftbikerun New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Genymotion

    Same thing, it's FREE, and it works very well.
     
  4. joell85

    joell85 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UT, USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I used it on the SP2, but it absolutely killed my battery. Have they made any improvements?
     
  5. double07

    double07 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I did it on SP1. It works but it is not for me. I have a nice Android tablet already, if I want to use android I grab android tablet.
     
  6. jedge

    jedge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Done and done:

    Capturdfe.JPG

    I didn't pay for it, just letting it download the daily free app. It does seem slower than i expected. No idea if it's affecting battery life since it's not open most of the time, but i'll keep an eye on it.
     
  7. tuchas

    tuchas Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Some Android apps under Blue Stacks are crashing the Android-emulated OS, but that was happening on other PCs as well. Someone on another thread mentioned Genymotion - anyone try that emulator?

    www.genymotion.com
     
  8. unruledboy

    unruledboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    My Device:
    SPro3
    @jedge

    free version will force downloading apps? will it install the apps auto?
     
  9. jedge

    jedge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It says to continue using it after the first day, you can choose to pay $2 per month ($24 for a year) or download the free app of the day. I chose the free app option, but i don't think it ever downloaded anything. I've only had it for 1 day. I'll check again later.

    Seems pretty stable to me, though it does seem to get confused when it expects location data.
    The resource monitor apps usually don't work too... ex: it can't report on the battery.
    It does recognize the Type Cover 2 as an input device with no problems.
    If you run it in full screen mode, it will take over your desktop and you can't reduce it. If you want to use the desktop you have to close it. But if you run it in window'd mode that's not a problem, but kinda destroys the experience.
    Phone doesn't work either. :p

    It looks surprisingly good on the screen. No scaling or hi-res issues like other apps show. Here's a full scale screenshot of the corner:
    next.png
     
  10. unruledboy

    unruledboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney
    My Device:
    SPro3
    @jedge

    nicely done, bro! i will install it and give it a shot :in love:
     
  11. godson594

    godson594 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I downloaded it and ended up uninstalling it 10 minutes after. Wasn't the same as Blue Stacks and I didn't feel like spending anymore time trying to figure out how to add stuff from google play store.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
android apps on sp3
,
android emulator for xp sp3 ms
,
android on sp 3
,

android on sp3

,

bluestacks battery

,
bluestacks battery life
,
bluestacks surface pro 3
,
does blue stacks work on microsoft surface pro 3
,

how to install andriod on win xp sp3

,
will bluestacks drain my suface pro 3 battery