"Antimalware Service Executable" + Task Manager = high CPU load?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Haldi, Feb 27, 2015.

  1. Haldi

    Haldi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi guys,

    I've seen it a few times now that after i press CTRL+SHIFT+ESC to open the Task Manager the "Antimalware Service Executable" has 30-45% CPU load. This does not seem strange as it is the Bitdefender service, what seems strange is that most of the time, after you open the Task Manager the 30% CPU load start to drop till its lower than 0.5% in about 1-3 seconds.

    Does Anyone have the same behaviour? You open Task manager, and see the Antimalware Service Executable on 30-40% CPU load and rapidly dropping.

    Does Bitdefender have an included monitor for Task Manager or why is this happening?

    BitDefender TaskManager.png


    P.S
    btw, is bit defender even reccomended as sole anti virus programm?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Bitdefender is generally considered as a pretty good program, but my experience is that it is somewhat of a resource hog, even on a plugged in desktop and for tha6t reason I haven't been fond of it. It looks looke the same thing I've seen before.
     
  3. ptrkhh

    ptrkhh Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Are you sure its not Windows Defender?

    Try opening Windows Defender from the Control Panel. It should be disabled if you have BitDefender active.
     
    leeshor likes this.
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Good point.
     
  5. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I don't see an Antimalware Service running when I open up my task manager. I use Defender, which comes pre-installed and it is a program by Microsoft so I don't see any need to install another anti-virus program on my Surface. You must have installed a couple applications that I haven't seen mentioned or discussed here on this forum - Antimalware Service & Bit Defender.
     
  6. Haldi

    Haldi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Oh... Sorry my fault. It was Windows Defender and not Bitdefender... i mixed that one up.

    AntiMalware service executable.png
     
  7. Darcy

    Darcy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London, UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I got my SP3 on thursday & noticed this straight away, found it rather annoying so followed the guide in this youtube video:

     
  8. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Welcome to the forum @Darcy
     
  9. Haldi

    Haldi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    any comments on the steps in this video?
    Problems that might arrive?
     
  10. Haldi

    Haldi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Device:
    SPro3
    well, let's give it a try!
     
  11. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Video? I see no video... that Google Privacy Filter is maaaveelous... will take a peak from my insecure computer :)

    ok, The Run with highest privileges check box. This allows Windows Defender to run with elevated rights and ensures all malware really is removed. According to one site...

    It might also be possible that without this setting certain files and directories cannot be scanned.

    Proceed with caution.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2015
  12. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    This is what I would try if I was going to change something...
    Change the Conditions tab from
    conditions1.PNG

    to Conditions2.PNG

    With this hopefully it would only run while being idle and on power not on battery. Likely at night while you're sleeping.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
antimalwae service executable
,
antimalware service executable
,

antimalware service executable high cpu

,

antimalware service executable high usage windows 10

,
antimalware service executable win 10 permissions
,
antimalware service executable windows 10
,
microsoft antimalware service high cpu
,
what is antimalware service executable
,
windows 10 antimalware service executable high cpu
,
windows 10 antimalware service executable high load