What's new

Any Doctors in the house?

Rugbyguy541

So my Dad is a doctor, and he just got the SP3 after seeing how much I love mine for school. He has to take some big exam next year so I have him set up on how to use it to get the most out of studying with it.

What else I want to know is, how do you (as a doctor) incorporate your SP3 into everyday work? My dad is a huge tech geek like myself, so anything and everything would be great.

BillJ

I am an ER doctor in Philly. I teach resident doctors, and I use my SP3 for research, creation of presentations and lectures, and for my own continuing education.
We use electronic medical records in our emergency departments, and I have tried to use the SP3 for this. Unfortunately, the EMR is designed to be an aid for billing (not patient care!) and is intended to run on Windows XP with all sorts of security features applied. The program does work after a fashion on the SP3, but with drop-down menus and such, the documentation process is still easier with a standard desktop machine and mouse. Doctors in general thoroughly dislike their EMR's for being irrelevant to patient care and otherwise difficult to use, and I am no exception.

I dream of a time when I can sit down with a patient, look him/her in the eye and simultaneously record my interaction with my tablet PC.
I hope that time is not far off. There may be medical programs for office-based physicians that could be run very well with an SP3, I just don't know what those would be at this time.

OP
Rugbyguy541

Rugbyguy541

I am an ER doctor in Philly. I teach resident doctors, and I use my SP3 for research, creation of presentations and lectures, and for my own continuing education.