Solved Any trick to audio output?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by tonypitt, Sep 3, 2014.

  1. tonypitt

    tonypitt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I am using my SP3 in the classroom for teaching. In 2 separate rooms now I have hooked my SP3 up to a provided audio jack and not had sound come out of the classroom speakers. My SP3 continues playing audio through its built in speakers just fine.

    I thought it might be a problem with the jack and so in both cases I put the jack into my iPhone. It played audio through the system just fine.

    Is there something special I need to do to have the SP3 send out audio via the jack port?

    I ordered one of these (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004SP0WAQ/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) in case that was the problem. It hasn't come in yet for testing.
     
  2. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    you might have to "right" click on the speaker icon on the taskbar bottom right and click on "playback"devices and choose the adapter as default and you should then hear it from the adapter... but normally it should play automatically through the adapter.
     
    ~X.T.~ and ctitanic like this.
  3. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Correct.
     
  4. olimjj

    olimjj Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Where no man has gone before.
    My Device:
    SPro3
    If I may reiterate what was indicated and suggested by the prior posters, and also to troubleshoot a bit more:
    Right click on Speakers icon in the taskbar and select Playback devices from the menu. With nothing connected to the headphone jack (audio output port on the SP3); you should see Speakers (the internal speakers of course) and Headphones. The Speakers should be indicated as your Default Device, and should be checked. When you insert the provided classroom stereo plug (I assume that’s what you meant when you said jack) into the SP3’s headphone jack, the Default Device should now change automatically (as kundas1 indicated) to Headphones, and now it should be checked. If this is not happening then (as kundas1 indicated) select it manually. You might have to double click on it. Let us know if this was successful.
     
  5. tonypitt

    tonypitt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I was to successfully play audio on Thursday. What I discovered as perhaps a contributing factor to my thinking that sound was not being output was that I had to significantly increase the volume level. All seems to be functioning well now. Thanks, all.
     

Share This Page