Any way to install Office 365 and keep Access 2003?

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Forum' started by mitchellvii, Aug 8, 2013.

  1. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Thought I would give Office 365 another look but it doesn't want to install with Access 2003 on my system. Seems first time I tried that months ago it was not an issue.

    Anyone know how to deal with this? Want to keep Access 2003. IMHO Access after that year sucks.
     
  2. TeknoBlast

    TeknoBlast Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Irving, TX
    You should be able to install Access 2003 all by itself. I liked Picture Manager from Office 2010, so when I purchased 2013, I was disappointed that Picture Manager is no longer available. So I installed PM from O2010 by itself. I'm sure you can do the same for Access, but do place it in its own directory.
     
  3. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I think maybe I can install Access 2003 over Office 365 but not the other way around.
     
  4. DOS

    DOS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    USA
    I have run into problems trying to mix 64bit Office versions with 32bit Office versions... could this be your issue?
     
  5. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Nope. The error I am getting says that it cannot install due to the presence of a previous Beta. Since I have nothing like that I am just assuming it is typically obtuse MS-speak for a prior version of Office.
     
  6. Russ

    Russ Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    North Georgia, USA
    Darth --

    I did the same thing on my Ladyfriend's Pro, and it works fine. She, too, likes Picture Manager.

    Regards,
    Russ
     
  7. donaldvc

    donaldvc New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    In principle, the 365 installer should be compatible with earlier versions of Office. You might want to try something like this workaround:

    Can not install other Office (RTM) product after installing Office Professional Plus 2013 RTM

    It solved a similar problem I had when trying to install 2013.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ok, figured it out although your exact solution did not work for me:

    Just went to regedit / HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE / Miscrosoft / Office and deleted the folder named "15.0". I was then able to install Office 365 without a hitch.

    ** have no idea how 15.0 got on here since I never installed the preview on this machine, but oh well. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

    Lol, as a side note, it is remarkable how HORRIBLE documents look in Word 365. The anti-aliasing is just awful.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2013
  9. machistmo

    machistmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    My Device:
    Other
    I thought those devices shipped with the full version installed and requiring activation?
     
  10. mitchellvii

    mitchellvii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    559
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    My Device:
    SPro3
    This was on my desktop not my SP.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
access 2003 and office 365
,
access2003 with office365
,
can i run access 2003 on office 365
,
custom office 365 install without access
,
how to install office 365 without access
,
install office 365 over office 2003
,

loading office 365 and access 2003

,
office 365 install without access
,
office365 keep access 2007 installed
,
run access 2000 and office 365