Anyone playing Pinball FX 2? Battling input lag.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by horseflesh, Mar 21, 2014.

  1. horseflesh

    horseflesh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I'm trying to get Pinball FX2 working on my SP2 8/256. The game auto-selects reasonable graphics settings, and the frame rate seems very high, at least 30 fps.

    Unfortunately, when you hit a key on the keyboard, there is a long lag before you see the flipper move on the screen. It makes the game unplayable.

    With an external USB keyboard, the lag is the same as with the Type Cover 2.

    With a wireless Xbox controller, the lag seems to be half or one-third as bad. The game is still not really playable, though.

    On AMD and Nvidia GPUs, this lag is often attributed to the "Max Pre-Rendered Frames" setting, and the advice is to reduce the value to 0. This is not possible on our Intel GPUs, though.

    The problem may not be "Max Pre-Rendered Frames" at all, either... After all, using the Xbox controller did reduce the lag quite a bit.

    Does anyone have any ideas on how to battle the lag?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 22, 2014
  2. revmike

    revmike Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hanford, CA
    I play pinball star from the Microsoft store, I just use touch.
     
  3. DungeonShredder

    DungeonShredder New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I own the game and I find there is a bigger issue with the frame rate making the game unplayable all graphics options turned off or set to low
     
  4. Great

    Great New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same here :-(
     
  5. kundas1

    kundas1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro3
    What are you guys doing? It runs perfectly on my S2 and mine isn't as powerful as yours lol... is it a different version for SP2?
     
  6. horseflesh

    horseflesh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    1. Take Surface 2 Pro out of box
    2. Turn on
    3. Install Steam
    4. Install Pinball FX2
    5. Play

    My S2P could not have been more stock when I tried this game.

    No difference after the March driver/firmware update, either.
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Why are you running it through Steam? Its available in the Windows Store as a Modern App optimized for Windows 8.
     
  8. horseflesh

    horseflesh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I already own it through Steam and don't want to re-buy it.

    Theoretically there's no reason it shouldn't work as well as any other 3d game, but clearly something's goofy with it.
     
  9. DungeonShredder

    DungeonShredder New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    using the Microsoft store version of it have it on high performance with all eye candy turned low or off all apps turned off and it is about 5 FPS from being enjoyable if the ball is moving slow it's okay but at high speed the ball vanishes and reappears like skipped frames
     
  10. DungeonShredder

    DungeonShredder New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    there is a setting in the NVidia control panel
    - manage 3d Settings
    - program settings tab
    - select program pick pinball FX2.exe or add it
    - Maximum pre-rendered frames - set it to 1
    just installed the steam version and got the input lag this fixed it
     
  11. horseflesh

    horseflesh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Where do you have an Nvidia control panel in your S2P? If there is a S2P with an Nvidia GPU I want to know about it! :)
     
  12. DungeonShredder

    DungeonShredder New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    oops lol went retarded kinda got sick of how it performed on the SP2 and installed it on my PC
    just wish it could transfer tables but NOOOOO!!!!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
pinball fx 2 delay on paddles
,
pinball fx 2 xbox one lag
,
pinball fx flipper lag
,
pinball fx xbox one lag
,
pinball fx2 flipper lag
,
pinball fx2 flipper lag xbox one
,
pinball fx2 lag
,

pinball fx2 xbox one flipper lag

,
pinball fx2 xbox one lag
,
surface pro 3 pinball fx