Apps installed to SD card won't update

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by wynand32, Apr 14, 2016.

  1. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    So, I got one of those SanDisk Ultra 200GB microSD cards on sale at Amazon for $60, and having nothing else to do with it I stuck it in my SP4. Figured I'd save a little space on the SSD by setting applications to install to the card.

    However, now that I've done so, none of the apps that are on the SD card will update. They generate a code in the Windows Store that I forgot to write down, and the only way to get them to update is to move to the SSD.

    Anybody else seeing this? I have no idea if this is a Windows 10 problem or an SP4 problem, although I tend to think it's the former. If anyone else can confirm that they have apps installed to microSD and that can be successfully updated, then that's a data point for something being wrong with my SP4.
     
  2. nnthemperor

    nnthemperor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Same here. Been quite fustrating having to move apps back and forth just to update.
     
  3. Plantje

    Plantje Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Zwolle, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    I have seen that happening on Windows Phone 8.1 as well. Not with all apps though. It seems to be a setting that can be set by the app developer.

    Moving them back and forth is the only way...
     
  4. nnthemperor

    nnthemperor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    On Windows 10 it's all the apps. I doubt it's an issue with dev. setting. I think we should ask report this obj the insider hub. It's basically useless having apps on SD card if you have to move them to update.

    Sent from my SC-01F using Tapatalk
     
  5. MikemanSP4

    MikemanSP4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro4
    OK - So check this out. I went out and bought a super fast Samsung MicroSD card, (super fast and well worth the extra coin BTW) Anyhow, once I replaced my old SD card with the new one, Windows automatically set the Drive letter to "D" - where the old MicroSD card was "E" - All kinds of issues - For instance - when I would attempt to open my Camera, Windows would tell me it was unavailable as Windows had set everything up on the "E" drive.

    ........................So as you might figure, a simple fix is to head on over to the Disk Management under the Computer Management settings. I then changed the drive letter from "D" back to "E" and all was solved. This might work in your case as during the setup Windows labeled the initial MicroSD (if you had one installed) as "D or E". Perhaps changing the drive path / letter will resolve this issue. I would suggest starting your troubleshooting there. If it works, perhaps you can let me know.
     
  6. MikemanSP4

    MikemanSP4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro4

    Check this link out - Worked for me! Woooo - Hooooo!

    (MOD) How to install Windows Stores apps on sd card
     
  7. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Okay, thanks, I'll try this and your other idea. The link is a bit old and I think it's from when Win8 didn't offer the ability to store to SD card. Changing the drive letter is certainly easy enough to try.
     
  8. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    By the way, I posted this question on another forum, and this is definitely not just a Surface problem.
     
  9. yonghong

    yonghong Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You have to format it to NTFS.period.
     
    wynand32 likes this.
  10. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hmm... Okay, mine was formatted as exFAT. Just switchied it to NTFS and I'll report back once an app attempts to update.

    Thanks!
     
  11. wynand32

    wynand32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Oak Park, CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yep, that seems to have done the trick. Just updated some apps installed to the SD card without issue.

    Thanks again!
     
    yonghong and leeshor like this.
  12. Plantje

    Plantje Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Zwolle, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    If you format it as NTFS can you use it in Windows 10 Mobile as well? (And install apps on it?)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to store apps to sd card on surface 2 windows rt