Auto-correct in IE Touch

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Forum' started by zhenya, Dec 27, 2014.

  1. zhenya

    zhenya Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    On my SP3 I use the Touch version of IE fairly regularly with the Type keyboard. The auto-correct function seems only half baked here. It is extremely aggressive about replacing entire words, gives me no warning that it is going to do so, and I often have to re-type the same word several times before it sticks to the word I want. It also doesn't seem to be learning from any of the corrections I make. Is this just the way it is or is there any tweaking I can do?
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I got tired of recorrect─źng the autocorrected words and also suffering the shame fro the ones I missed so I turned it off. At least it doesn't replace 'SMTP' with 'Smut' anymore though. :)
     
    leeshor likes this.
  3. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I turned autocorrect off, it still highlights words that are wrong and you can change then if you want, its somewhere in the PC settings.
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I meant to include that earlier... Swipe from right, Settings, Change PC Settings, PC and Devices, Typing, Autocorrect misspeled [sic] words - off. :)
     
  5. zhenya

    zhenya Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Thanks! I just tried that setting earlier this morning so we'll see how it goes.
     

Share This Page