What's new

Battery Life TERRIBLE after last update

SeanP

I don't get it. I updated a few weeks ago to latest firmware and now, my battery is HALF of what it was. I am lucky if I can get 5 hours out of this.

Brightness at half.

Use Outlook, Gmail, and web surfing with IE as well. No video...No music...No Games. Office Suite as well . This is ridiculous.

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
Have you done any of the Battery Reports? powercfg /energy to see what is using up you battery life?

OP
S

SeanP

No but I am a newbie on Windows or had been away for a while. Got rid of my MacAir. At this rate, I'm going to end up going back. I need to get 8 hours+.

Can you tell me how to do what you are suggesting and what I need to be looking for?

GreyFox7

Super Moderator
Staff member
Do you have process running using 20-30% CPU in Task Manager.

Run Command Prompt in Administrator mode. in the Desktop hold the start button a few seconds . A menu will popup... Select Command Prompt (Admin).
run these commands:
MD C:\Temp
CD C:\Temp
Powercfg /energy
The report will be saved in the temp directory.

leeshor

It seems we get at least one thread like this, about battery issues, for every other update. Maybe it's just me.

GreyFox7

Super Moderator
Staff member
It seems we get at least one thread like this, about battery issues, for every other update. Maybe it's just me.
I suspect its an update issue that leaves the system in an inconsistent state.

Maybe uninstalling the updates would work but its a long shot.

OP
S

SeanP

Here is a screenshot of the report that I have run.

I don't think it should still drain due to "screen timeout" being long. Makes no sense since I am using the screen continually and therefore would not want it timed out. I have brightness set very low when I am inside...approx. 30-40% brightness.

Any help I can get to determine what is happening based on the attached screenshot of the "warnings" would be helpful

Thank you

Attachments