Battery not detected or plugged in, not charging

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface 2' started by wbwillyb, Oct 13, 2015.

  1. wbwillyb

    wbwillyb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    S2
    I have been through all the "fixes" I could find on this site and others. Does anyone know of anyone that can repair my Surface? I watched the tear down video and this one seems to require someone with expertise.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. macster

    macster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Try cleaning the terminals of the receptacle on the S2 and the connector on the power cable (unplugged) and see what that does. Also clean around them.

    M~
     
  3. wbwillyb

    wbwillyb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    S2
    I tried cleaning them with alcohol. It's pretty clean. I have read that the battery management can drain the battery to a level where it won't charge unless you use a newer style charger. Pretty upset with the quality, < 2 years old. Not to mention that they don't repair only trade out for $320.....
     

    Attached Files:

  4. macster

    macster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Can you provide a link to the newer style charger?

    M~
     
  5. wbwillyb

    wbwillyb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    S2
  6. macster

    macster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8

    If it was me, I would get the first one.

    M~
     
  7. wbwillyb

    wbwillyb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    S2
    I have that one, the OEM is 2A. The other thread on another site referenced using the pro2 plug that had the higher 3.6A output.

    If anyone has some advice on a repair shop or another idea please let me know.
     

Share This Page