Battery percentage indicator on windows not showing time to empty

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by samtoohey93, May 7, 2015.

  1. samtoohey93

    samtoohey93 New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi guys,

    This is a bit bizarre but battery indicator on my Pro 3 doesnt show time to empty, only percentage. It is weird because my Asus N series laptop that is my workstation DOES show the percentage.

    My device is fully updated and it still doesnt show.

    What am I missing??


    Cheers for the help,
    Sam
     
  2. Johnny365

    Johnny365 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You can always use BatteryBar.
     
    joell85 likes this.
  3. sdreamer

    sdreamer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    This depends by manufacturer and if it will be enabled. In Windows 8.x it will not show on Surface Pro 3's. Windows 10 seems to enable it though. The reason for this that was given years ago (cannot find reference) is to prevent users from confusing themselves with how much time they have as it does fluctuate with usage.
     
  4. samtoohey93

    samtoohey93 New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    That makes sense. I ask this for a surface only because I brought this the other day and my old Pro 2 had the time to empty on the percentage indicator as well. So it might be a firm ware issue I'm assuming
     
  5. vxm

    vxm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Warsaw, PL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    My old laptop (which I upgraded to Win 8.1), Lenovo Y500, had the timer, but both Thinkpad Yoga and now SP3 don't have this feature. My desktop workstation also doesn't have it.
     
  6. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,337
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It has something to do with the Connected Standby implementation which the Pro 2 doesn't have. There was/are discussions of this in the past here in the SP3 forum. Bottom line it's a dynamically changing thing subject to inaccuracies.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ms surface battery indicator live tile