Best browser for SP3?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by alexanderu, Jul 25, 2014.

  1. alexanderu

    alexanderu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey Guys,
    I've noticed using chrome makes my battery drain significantly... What browser do you use, and what do you recommend?
     
  2. thisiscarlo

    thisiscarlo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    The Metro version of IE has grown on me quite a lot over the past few days. It's surprisingly efficient and webpages just look beautiful. I would kill for Adblock on IE but for the most part I'm liking it.

    Still have Chrome installed and logged in using one of my profiles just to be safe, but it's a failsafe browser for work rather than being my main one.
     
  3. Kif

    Kif Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Relative
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Easy IE 11 metro or desktop version. It's the only browser optimized for the SP3.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2014
  4. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Metro IE.
     
  5. Geneo

    Geneo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Oklahoma, USA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I just use both IE's. One lets me use addons like Lastpass, one doesn't. I've never used Chrome, and have no interest in it. IE works great for me.

    As a side note, I was using a MBPro. I find the sp3, unlike the MB, hooks to the internet consistently, at full speed, and connects virtually instantly. My MB was only getting half the connection speed about half the time and I would usually have to turn off/on the wifi in order for it to connect.... even after 3 updates. When it did connect, it took several seconds of 'searching' to hook up.
    Is Safari better than IE? Meh. But there's a world of difference in the machines (from my experience).
     
    ctitanic likes this.
  6. Xiasi

    Xiasi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I like Metro IE but after moderate usage the fan seems to come on and stay on while the browser is up. I have tried closing everything else and it still happens. This does not occur when I use the desktop version of IE or Chrome.

    Is this just me? I would prefer to use the metro version but this fan issue bugs me.

    X
     
  7. glr

    glr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Geneo - Which IE version allows the Lastpass addon? Got to have it as old guys like me need all the help with memory that they can get.
     
  8. pcom

    pcom New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    The desktop version.
     
  9. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I've started using IE almost exclusively on the SP3. I tried to use Metro, but honestly, not being able to use AdBlock Plus just kills it for me. I would much rather use Metro than Desktop, but I was amazed in only the firs half hour of surfing, how ad-laden the pages are that I normally frequent.
     
  10. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Metro IE does not all any extension to be installed, at all.
     
  11. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    If you are having this issue is because you one visiting pages with a lot of flash contest. One way to avoid the issue is to block Ads by installing some tracking protection addons

    Capture.JPG
     
  12. ctitanic

    ctitanic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,194
    Likes Received:
    577
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    My Device:
    SPro3
    The tracking protection addons installed in the desktop version work in the metro version.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
best browser for sp3
,
best browser for surface
,

best browser for surface 3

,

best browser for surface pro 3

,
best browser surface pro 3
,
best web browser for surface pro 3
,
best web browser surface pro 3
,
ms surface best browsrt
,
surface 3 best browser
,
surface pro 3 best browser