HowTo Boot to Start Screen in Windows 10

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Forum' started by Plantje, May 25, 2016.

  1. Plantje

    Plantje Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Zwolle, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    I have set the start menu of my Windows 10 machines to display on full screen. However I can't find the option to directly boot to that start screen.

    All results of an internet search show options of the task bar properties that I don't have.

    (I have posted this question on the Microsoft community as well, but unfortunately (same as in a lot of cases) after some questions from a support employee, no answer was given. http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...ndows-10/23ec68f4-f8a9-4667-94d2-86edc12b636c)
     
  2. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,852
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Here is how to
    Show Start Menu (Start Screen) automatically immediately after bootup:

    1) Start Notepad, and paste this in:
    Code:
    set wShell=wscript.createobject("wscript.shell")
    wShell.sendkeys "^{ESC}"
    Set WshShell = Nothing
    
    Save as "All Files" and name "ShowStartMenu.vbs" (or customize as you wish).

    2) Move or copy the file to
    Code:
    C:\Users\Your user name\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup
    
    Be sure to change "Your user name" to your user name.

    Of course, to make the start menu display full screen, make the change in Settings, Personalization, Start, Use Start full screen.

    If you have many items in your Startup folder already, the display of the Start Menu may be delayed until some or all of the other items start.

    Enjoy.

    showstartmenu_vbs.jpg

    snip_20160525134602.jpg

    snip_20160525135401.jpg
     
  3. Plantje

    Plantje Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Zwolle, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    Thanks! Good old VBScript. And of course it is that easy...

    What I think is strange is that my Surface 3 DOES boot to the start screen automatically. What is most likely different there? The fact that it is a tablet/laptop?
     
  4. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,852
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Your Surface 3 is apparently booting to Tablet mode, meaning the Start Menu will automatically show.
     
  5. Plantje

    Plantje Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Zwolle, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    No, I don't think so. I will check it again later today, but I think it boots in non-tablet mode.
     
  6. Plantje

    Plantje Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Zwolle, The Netherlands
    My Device:
    Surface 3 (Atom)
    Haha...I have to admit I was wrong. It doesn't boot to the start screen at all. Anyway, I wanted this for a different computer. I will test the script on that one later. I'll let you know. Thanks again!
     
    sharpuser likes this.

Share This Page