Bought 2nd hand surface 2, some questions pls

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface 2' started by MrMrMr, Jan 21, 2016.

  1. MrMrMr

    MrMrMr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    S2
    Loved the surface when seen it. Normally an Apple man, iPads etc.

    So I thought I'd buy a 2nd hand surface first and just purchased a Surface 2 32Gb. So...

    I know RT is gone now, but is it still supported and is there still decent apps, any new or no apps now getting written for rt.

    What is the max SD supported, I believe that you can now store apps etc on the SD card as well as internal to help with storage?

    What's the best case. I've also got the type cover 2 for basic protection but wanting a sleeve to put in when travelling. Prefer one to fit, rather than a one that says "accepts from 7-11" just means lots. Prefer a snugger fit.

    Any other necessary accessories that people use. Does any of the pens work?

    Any way to clean the type cover, does it stay clean?

    I've factory reset it, putting all the updates on and I've only got 10Gb free now. The MS support doc says for a surface 2 with 32Gb it should have 18Gb free.

    Can I use my MS account but delete the email. I don't want the email on as others in my family will use the surface as well.

    Son has a hp 2 in 1 windows 10 on. He has a MS account and we've bought some apps and games. Can you share these between us, like family sharing on iOS? If so job please

    Any other hints and tips gratefully accepted whilst I read this forum

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2016
  2. SteelSteve

    SteelSteve New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can't answer all your questions, but ill answer what can.
    I Surface 2 was advertised as being able to handle up to a 128GB SD card I believe. You may be able to go larger, I've never tried it. As for installing apps on the SD card, Microsoft added this feature to its phone OS, but I don't know of a way to do it on the Surface 2. You can move your users home directory folders to the SD which helps with space a little, but I'm afraid you'll always have to keep an eye on your disk space.

    I have the touch cover not the type cover, and its stayed relatively clean, I've tried to clean it with some LCD cleaner, but the results have been mixed.

    You do not have to configure the device to read your email, but if each user has their own Microsoft login then they wont see your email.
     
  3. MrMrMr

    MrMrMr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    S2
    I bought a 64Gb to be safe. Doesn't look like can save apps to SD which is a shame as after a factory restore and all the updates there's only 14Gb left.

    Can't see how to have just my login and not the mail, only way so far is that I've un-installed the mail app. Not sure if this is right
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Some of that space will be recovered over time. There is a large folder called windows.old that will get cleansed up automatically. If you do an image backup you can use Windows' disk cleanup to free up the s[ace now.
     
  5. MrMrMr

    MrMrMr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    S2
    I ran the windows cleanup and included system files. Think that's my lot of space now.

    Quite impressed actually so far decent little laptop. Feels natural to sometimes use the keyboard and then the touch screen to
     
    leeshor likes this.
  6. MrMrMr

    MrMrMr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    S2
    Does the 2 play 1080P MP4 videos fine? On the unit and through the HDMI out to a TV as well? No stutter etc?
     

Share This Page