What's new

Browser Advice

nmscott

Hey everyone!

I could really use some advice as I am at the end of my rope here. My wonderful parents bought me a surface pro 2 running windows 8.1 for Christmas after I mentioned how annoying it is drag my laptop back and forth everyday. I was so excited until I actually needed certain websites to use for my work. I have never been a fan of IE, I use Firefox on my laptop but was doing okay with the browser for my basic needs during vacation. I am a graduate student that does DNA analysis and takes classes. I mention this because Eclass, the program used by my school to post all of my assignments is of course not compatible with IE, but surprise surprise is with Firefox and Chrome. Also I use a website called UNITE for all my DNA analysis and it also a horrible mess with IE. I tried to use some of the other browsers found in the windows store, but none of them would download my assignments! I just click on them and nothing happens. The UNITE database looked better in the other browsers but when I clicked run to actually get my results instead of opening up a new tab in that browser it opened up one in IE were is won't work! So basically does anyone have any browser recommendations from the windows store that will actually download things from websites and not link to open tabs in IE? Otherwise I will have to luge around my laptop again making this tablet completely pointless for me to own....

GreyFox7

Super Moderator
Staff member
There's no reason you cannot run Download Firefox and use it as you would on any PC. The Store is optional with a Surface Pro.

As far as opening other tabs in IE you would need to change the default browser to whatever you want to use.

OP
N

nmscott