What's new

Buy now or wait?

Lina

Hey everyone,

I hope this post is in the right section and sorry if it's a repeat that you've heard a few times, first time on the site! :)

I don't yet have a surface, I was all set to buy one (literally was just waiting for the magenta touch cover to come back in stock in the UK) but then I came across a couple of threads on this site discussing the slowness/sluggishness of the surface. A few of you have mentioned that with first gen models this is always the case, and if people want something more advanced they should wait for next gen.

Now this is my dilemma, my primary use for the surface RT will be to use on the go, for days when I'm out all day in meetings or travelling. I'm an online content writer so need a tablet that I can work/write and edit pics on, etc, that is also very slimline and portable, with exceptional battery power. I don't need a full laptop replacement. So the surface RT sounds perfect. However as I mentioned above, I am getting concerned about some of the topics raised, and was wondering if you would recommend waiting for the next gen, or should I just buy it now and hope there will be software updates? If you do advise for the next gen, do you have an idea how long a wait it might be?

Thanks.

Agave Azul

I ventured out this past saturday and headed for the MicroSoft Store here locally.
There were about 20 Surface Tablets to test out, hold, and operate.
After going over the Surface, I was generally happy with what I was experiencing.
The way the charge cord connects to the Tablet was precise yet not awkward.
The same went for the keypad; I actually liked the way MS developed this and I was happy on how it connected to their Surface.

Now, only a few things prevented me from taking one home :
The finished surface area on the back of the Surface:
I expected to be more closely alike the competitiors.
I was seeking a more truly finished rear cover.