Can anyone explain the different chargers

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by inthesahel, Jul 26, 2016.

  1. inthesahel

    inthesahel New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I had a SP 3, it had a figure 8 charger(Where you could pull the cable out of the brick),
    then I got a m3 SP4 and now it just plugs into the wall. I am getting ready to head overseas, can anyone confirm that the i5 and i7 has the figure 8 charger?

    Thanks
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    They do.
     
  3. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Not only do they have the Figure 8 cords, but ALL charger bricks are worldwide voltage-compatible. So a simple adapter, not converter, will suffice to plug into the wall (mains power).
     
    GreyFox7 likes this.
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I meant to say that but my toast was burning ;)
     
  5. inthesahel

    inthesahel New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Thank you GreyFox and sharpuser for confirming that- do either of you know where I can get a brick for less than 70 bucks on Microsoft.com? Is there anywhere that I can get purchase the non US end and get the European end with the brick?


    Thanks
     
  6. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    No, on the new brick cost question. New bricks are expensive. Used bricks are cheap.

    Figure-8 European cords are widely available: see here.
     
  7. inthesahel

    inthesahel New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Thank you- I found cords on ebay your link didn't seem to work.

    The bricks, it seem there is a 65w and a 36w version that was used for SP3, which one should the SP4 M3 version use or will it make no difference. I think the current one is 24w so probably the 36w version?
     
  8. inthesahel

    inthesahel New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I finally found a picture of the SP4 brick and the SP3 brick, output voltage is different(12v versus 15v). Even the SP3 brick and SP4 m3 brick outputs are different. I will get an SP4 brick output is 15v.
    Thanks for your help
     

Share This Page