Can I Use iTunes in My Surface Pro 2?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by Sir Face, Feb 3, 2014.

  1. Sir Face

    Sir Face New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since the Pro 2 has full Windows 8.1, can it run iTunes?
     
  2. kozak79

    kozak79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Why not? It's a computer. Just download iTunes for Windows, works just fine.
     
  3. benjitek

    benjitek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    28
    My Device:
    SPro2
    Had you tried to install it and run into some sort of issue? Can't see any other reason for the question...
     
  4. Sir Face

    Sir Face New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, I'm coming from the Surface 2...this Surface Pro 2 is a truly different animal! Wonderful!
     
  5. Sir Face

    Sir Face New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, but I just installed it successfully though and it works fine. I have just came from a plain Surface 2 where this wasn't possible. That's why I was asking.
     
  6. bamaster

    bamaster Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The Surface Pro 2 is a full Windows computer locked in a tablet body. Think of it as a laptop with a removable keyboard. (The Type Cover 2 is great, if you don't already have it)

    The regular ol' Surface 2 is a regular tablet that can only run apps from the Windows Store. As great as it is at doing that, it can't touch the Pros.
     
  7. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Usually the reason most people move from an RT OS to a Windows OS is to be able to run standard Windows apps. That's why some of us were a little puzzled by the question. If it's an app that is compatible with Windows 7, then there is no reason not to try it and see. If I was purchasing an expensive app such as Photoshop, I would check on their website to see if it was compatible with Windows 8.1, otherwise I would just go far it.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Philtastic

    Philtastic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Welcome to the world of portable full Windows. It's an amazing experience to be able to run everything you'd normally have on your desktop or laptop on the go in such a small, portable form.
     
  9. jerret porter

    jerret porter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a surface pro 2 and I am trying to get iTunes on my table. However when I go to the website, because there is no app in the windows store, I click download, it downloads for one minute, then says there is no app on my PC to run this. How exactly am I to get iTunes on my tablet so my wife can use her account
     
  10. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    By going to Apples website and installing the Windows version of iTunes...

    http://www.apple.com/itunes/download/
     
  11. jerret porter

    jerret porter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah that's what I did and when it finished downloading, it said there is no app to run this file. So I'm confused.
     
  12. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,107
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    What Browser are you using? It should be called iTunes64Setup.exe and its 116MB in size...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can i download itunes on my surface pro 2
,
can surface pro 2 run itunes
,
can the surface pro 2 run itunes
,
itunes for surface pro 2
,
itunes for surface pro 3
,
itunes microsoft surface pro 2
,

itunes on surface pro 2

,

itunes on surface pro 3

,
running itunes on surface pro 3
,

surface pro 2 itunes