Can the i5 SP3 drive dual 1920 x 1080 screens?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by accesser, Oct 6, 2014.

  1. accesser

    accesser New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've had my SP3 for almost two weeks now and i'm keen to make it my daily computer to do this gracefully I’m going to either upgrade my existing monitors to display port models or purchase a MST hub & DVI converters

    i’m curious to hear if anybody is running dual 24 ish sized screens ok from your i5 my usage is very non-gaming I'm more of a productivity guy with some occasional Lightroom & Photoshop work.
     
  2. nipponham

    nipponham Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Japan
    My Device:
    SPro3
    From this blog article:
     
    accesser likes this.
  3. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I have used a 24 & 20 off a DisplayLink docking station without issue. It would certainly work with two 24 inch monitors... I only have one.

    There are other threads here about DP monitors and setups and id say the biggest challenge you'll have is getting compatible components and cables. keep cables short where possible. There seems to be some hit or miss to this which to me indicates issues with the DisplayPort specification and variance in implementation by vendors. To be certain people have gotten it to work so posted problems may be the exception.
     
  4. accesser

    accesser New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply I've found quite a few posts as you said its a very mixed bag

    I've been trying to decide how I’m going to do this for quite some time I was almost ready to purchase a MST hub when I got an e-mail from one of the vendors saying they are having compatibility issues with the MST hub and DP to DVI converters

    Since then I've toyed with the idea of getting a couple of nice new monitors with MST daisy chaining

    Realistically I think I might settle for a temporary solution of using a pair of MiniDP to DVI converters one from my doc one from my SP3 and wait for a sale on some nice new screens
     
  5. mohcho

    mohcho Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I'm running dual 22" at 1680 x 1050 without issues using Pluggable UD-3900 dock using a DVI cable and a HDMI>DVI adaptor cable as my monitors do not have HDMI or DP support. There hasn't been ANY issue at all and the SP3 is more than capable in running this setup. I normally keep the SP3 screen off, but I can run that as well as a third monitor without any issue. I may try to use a mini-DP > HDMI cable to test a third monitor as well.
     
  6. mtalinm

    mtalinm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    my SP2 did this, so I assume the SP3 w/ same chip will.

    just be sure to do it with a daisy-chain setup or the dock (so you can drive each screen from a displayport). otherwise you will have to plug in a screen using USB, which is more taxing on the processor. it will work, it'll just be noisy
     
  7. mohcho

    mohcho Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Not true. I have used the USB dock since day one when I got my SP3 and its always run silent, not taxing the CPU at all. With all the new firmware and driver updates, the fan on the SP3 rarely turns on, unless I am specifically taxing the system by running a graphic intensive game or a utility.
     
    GreyFox7 likes this.
  8. accesser

    accesser New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the info guys really helps

    I think I'll order some DPmini to DVI cables or an adapter for now and if I ever see some good monitor sales I'll upgrade if I'm running only one screen from each port (The Dock and the SP3) do I need an active cable or can I just get a passive
     
  9. wditters

    wditters Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I am using 2x daisy-chained Lenovo LT2934 in 2560x1080 ... works very smoothly. Your best bet however is to indeed settle for official DP 1.2 compatible monitors. Connecting via a Displaylink USB hub is cheaper and works fine but graphics performance is lower than via daisy-chained DP 1.2. I used both options but settled for daisy-chaining on my SP2 i5 and now on my SP3 i7 as the more practical and better performing option. Works marvellous.
     
    accesser likes this.
  10. HarnessTech

    HarnessTech Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I am running two 24" 1920x1080 monitors plus the SP3's own screen and they are all working without a hitch. Both are connected using mini DisplayPort to HDMI cables, one from the docking station and the other from the SP3's built-in mini DisplayPort.
     
    accesser likes this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can surface pro 3 run 1920 x 1080 monitor

,
sp3 i7 vs sp3 i5 with dual monitors