Can't connect to MS Store on Surface2?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Help' started by Nocturnal, May 1, 2014.

  1. Nocturnal

    Nocturnal New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey everyone,

    encountered a weird problem today, and was wondering if anyone else is experiencing this.

    When I click on the Store app, the green screen and shopping bag comes up, but the activity indicator just keeps spinning, never loading the store.

    Am I unique or are others experiencing this problem too? I tried a refresh restore, and that did not fix it, and am now wondering if I should do a full system restore back to factory settings.

    I have no problems logging into other accounts such as Xbox Live.

    -Todd
     
  2. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I'm also having this issue. Was just going to leave it and see if it fixed itself :). Hasn't yet :(
     
  3. kristalsoldier

    kristalsoldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    No issues here - but then again, I am connecting from the UK. OTOH, yesterday, there was a problem. The Store was showing an update and whenever I went to install it said no updates were available. The app also crashed a number of times. The one app showed up the update list (Music app) and that was updated after which things stabilized.
     
  4. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Try running wsreset.exe
     
  5. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I've found the process 'Store broker' has been taking up a lot of CPU time at the same time the store stopped working. Heres the fix:

    1.Open Task Manager and end the 'Store' and 'Store Broker' tasks.
    2.Open 'C:\Users\{User}\AppData\Local\Packages\winstore_cw5n1h2txyewy\LocalState' directory.
    3.Rename the “Cache” directory/folder to “Cache.old”
    4.Create a new “Cache” folder/directory

    Store is working fine now and as yet not high CPU usage.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
cant connect to microsoft store on surface
,
cant connect to microsoft store surface
,
microsoft surface cant connect to store
,

store broker using up cpu time