Can't display 3840x2160 at any refresh rate from SP3

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by mijgilbert, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. mijgilbert

    mijgilbert New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Using a Seiki 4k 39" monitor with HDMI cable and Mini-display port adapter. This exact configuration, monitor, cable was able to drive 3840x2160 at 24hz with a co-worker's Surface pro 3. However I cannot get the Surface Pro 3 driver and/or software to give me the correct option to display this resolution on my Surface.

    I have tried the most updated Intel graphics driver and Intel Graphics control panel from the Intel site. I then tried to create a custom resolution for 3840x2160 at 24 hz refresh rate to parallel the resolution that worked on another Surface pro 3. I was able to create a custom 3840x2160 24hz resolution, however when I try to switch to it within the intel control panel it does nothing. I get a window that says "the new settings have been applied - do you want to keep these settings" with a yes/no (see the screen shot below) but in fact nothing has changed - the new resolution never displayed it just stayed the same. So while I was finally able to create a custom resolution that seemed correct, I was not able to actually apply it so that the monitor used that resolution.

    Then I tried to "update to the latest driver" from the control panel and grabbed the current driver from the microsoft site. I can now see a 3840x2160 resolution (recommended) in the "Change screen resolution" dropdown for the monitor, but if I select it then the screen just goes blank until the 15-second timeout is up. In the "List all Modes" dialog from the graphics driver, I do see four different 3840x2160 modes - at 11 hz, 12 hz, 14 hz and 15 hz but nothing at 24hz. Any of these modes selected yields a blank screen. As an aside, I also notice that all of the "valid modes" listed say 32 bit in parentheses but obviously I have a 64-bit i7 chip - don't know if somehow the wrong driver is installed (I know I've downloaded and installed the 64-bit version).

    Help! Any input which gets me closer to this working is appreciated. Thank you!

    -Mike
     
  2. surfdock

    surfdock Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Welcome to the forum!

    So you have the Core i7 model? What miniDP->HDMI adapter are you using? Is it compliant with HDMI 1.4? Have you tried swapping for a different adapter?

    Perhaps I'm out of touch with the Seiki developments and am thinking of a different brand, but I thought everyone was using 30Hz on these monitors with "active" 300Mhz spec miniDP->HDMI adapters and didn't need to set any special 24Hz modes with latest firmware. More info on miniDP->HDMI dongles here in case a more robust adapter is needed: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/danchar/archive/2014/10/07/d.aspx

    BTW 32-bit in this context refers to color depth as opposed to 24-bit, 16-bit, or 8-bit color. 32-bits typically means 8-bits for red-channel, 8-bits for green-channel, 8-bits for blue-channel, and 8-bits for alpha/transparency-channel. This spec is unrelated to the 64-bit processor spec.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2015
  3. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I believe I have heard this a couple times also, that it was the way to go...
     
  4. mijgilbert

    mijgilbert New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I have tried two different miniDP --> HDMI adapters, both directly into the SP3 and into the dock.

    One (which worked on another SP3 to display 3840x2160) is a Microsoft Model 1553 3.3x 300mA. I can't find that online anywhere so maybe Microsoft has replaced it? It doesn't have anything on it to refer to 300Mhz.

    The other is a Startech MDP2HDMI adapter.

    If you know of a cable and adapter that absolutely work I will definitely buy it and try it. Thanks!

    Mike
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
3840x2160 surface pro 3 2015
,
cannot find refresh rate on surface pro 4
,

microsoft model 1553

,
ms surface 3840x2160 resolution greyed out in windows 10
,
refresh rate surface pro 3