Change standard search to google?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Edge' started by Nummer35, Jul 6, 2015.

  1. Nummer35

    Nummer35 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hey,
    is there a way to change the standardsearch to google.com?
    Thanks :)
     
  2. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    There is a workaround for IE, but for Edge, so far as i can tell, google does not natively support the opensearch format so is not supported by Edge (wouldn't surprise me if this is intentional though, MS have been doing everything in their power to try and force you to use bing in windows 10 it seems)
     
    Nummer35 likes this.
  3. Nummer35

    Nummer35 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thought so :-( maybe sometime there is a "fix"
     
  4. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I would be surprised if that option didn't appear at least by RTM time....
     
    Nummer35 likes this.
  5. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Do you specifically want it for edge, or are you happy using IE?
     
  6. Nummer35

    Nummer35 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    On IE thats not the problem. I was wondering about Edge ;)
    Thanks for the help
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Google would need to support the specific Opensearch API....
     
  8. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    You could set Google up as your home page. That may be as close as you get for now.
     
    Spider likes this.
  9. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,851
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    You can indeed add these to Edge:
    - Google
    - Yahoo
    - Ask
    - Reddit
    - Yandex
    - others (depending upon your Country)

    1) Go to http://orthodox.io/edge/?c=com
    2) Select your Country

    Then

    In Edge:
    Settings, View advanced settings, Search in the address bar with, <Add new>

    You will find just what you want.
     
    leeshor likes this.
  10. Nummer35

    Nummer35 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    So this is just a simple redirektion from orthodox.io to google I assume.

    Works for me :)
     
  11. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,851
    Likes Received:
    1,030
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Not a redirect. The site is OpenSearch compatible, and vouches for the search engines. Edge then makes entries for those engines. After the entry is made, the site is never again visited.

    No detection of malware, virus, spoofing, etc. during the process.
     
    Nummer35 likes this.
  12. Cyb3rDud3

    Cyb3rDud3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Actually this is super easy to do, no need for other sites or any thing like that. However it is only super easy when you know how...So my favourite search engine is http://www.google.co.uk, here is how to do it;

    1. Browse to the search landing page of the search provider of choice; in my case http://www.google.co.uk
    2. Let the page load
    3. Click on the three dots on the top right
    4. Select 'settings' from the list that appears
    5. Click on 'View Advanced Settings'
    6. Click on the drop down for 'Search in the address bar with'
    7. Select 'add new'
    8. You now see your preferred search provider in the list.
    9. Choose 'add a default'
    10. Happy days :)

    Please note that this doesn't work if you aren't on the landing page of your search provider. I've tried it with google.co.uk, and also with duckduckgo and both work just fine.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

change standard search to google

,

change to google in ms edge

,

set google as standard search engine in edge

,

switch to google search