What's new

Clean Install of Windows 8.1 on SP3

Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum but it's nice to see a place where people are talking about the Surface tablets. I just bought a Surface Pro 3 last week ago over the Dell Venue Pro 11. I have finally made the switch over to a tablet over traditional laptops. Being an IT engineer, I wanted to run 8.1 Enterprise on it for Direct Access capabilities on my work network. The process was actually quite simple. I only had to disable secure boot in the UEFI BIOS and then used a bootable flash drive that had my copy of 8.1 Enterprise on it. The installation went very smooth and fast using a flash drive. I downloaded the June 2014 driver pack from Microsoft but only needed the wireless driver because as soon as I was online, Windows Update installed the firmware package for me.
Anyone who is looking to do a clean installation, please follow the below steps and your SP3 will run as fast as it did the day you got it. Make sure you use Rufus's utility and NOT the ]Microsoft windows 7 USB/ISO tool. The Surface Pro 3 uses a UEFI BIOS so you will need a UEFI bootable .

1 - Download Rufus's Utility at http://rufus.akeo.ie/

2 - Have your Windows 8.1 Installation DVD in your (can be any version of 8.1)

3 - In Rufus's utility, under device, select your flash drive (4gb or higher). **This process will erase the flash drive

- Under Partition scheme and target system type, choose GPT partition scheme for UEFI computer
- Under File System, choose FAT32
- Under Cluster size, choose "default" or 4096 bytes
- Under Volume Label, write anything you like or leave the default
- Under Format Options, leave check device for bad blocks unchecked and CHECK the next three options.
- Those options are Quick Format, create a bootable disk using : ISO Image & create extended label and icon files

4 - Click "Start" and wait for the to get created. this process can take up to 10-15 minutes depending on your system so be patient!