Solved Clean Surface Pro hd of personal info

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Help' started by roving, Feb 11, 2015.

  1. roving

    roving New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Am returning Surface Pro in exchange for a new one. I want to remove all of my info from first one. What is best method to do so?
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Reset: Swipe from right, Settings, Change PC Settings, Update and Recovery, Recovery, Remove everything and Reinstall Windows. There's an option to do a secure erase during this process if you want. It takes a while, plug it in, plug it in. :)
     
    roving likes this.
  3. roving

    roving New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    That is what I thought, but wanted to be certain. Thanks!!
     
  4. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    Thing which concerned me when I did this was that my wallpaper still showed after the format! Made me feel it wasn't completely fresh... but nothing else was there. Weird.
     
  5. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    So you set it up after the Reset??? And used the same account??? It would have done a sync of settings from OneDrive.
     
  6. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Important concept:
    If your returning it don't set it up after the Reset is finished just power off and its ready to return, then it would be like it came from the factory with nothing on it.

    If you need to reassure yourself (not recommended) that there's nothing on it after a fresh install of Windows DO NOT set it up using the same account or any Microsoft Account as SETTINGS & DATA from the Account on OneDrive will sync back to the device; instead use a Local Account. The account should be generic like Test or User not your name and include NO personal information.

    Then to have it really be like *Factory* you would need to Reset it again and not go through the setup afterwards.
     
  7. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    No I did not set it up, not at that point. My wallpaper appeared before any information was inputted, I found it rather startling! Is this not the norm, then?

    Also, just out of interest... what would OneDrive have to do with it when my wallpapers are only stored locally? Or does it automatically send information there without me knowing or something.
     
  8. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,343
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Have a look at Settings ... OneDrive, Sync Settings.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cleaning hd on surface pro