Cloning a Surface Pro?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro' started by Vanz, Apr 30, 2013.

  1. Vanz
    Offline

    Vanz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I have my Surface Pro all tweaked out with no bought software on it yet (lot's of free stuff installed), my wife's dad just bought a Surface Pro, he'd like to have it configured exactly like mine. So what I'd like to do it basically copy the HD from my Pro to his Pro.

    If these were PC's, I'd make an image of the c:\drive using Norton Ghost, then Ghost that image to PC#2, how can I do this for 2 Surface Pro's please?

    Thanks,

    Vanz
  2. Nuspieds
    Offline

    Nuspieds Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    The Surface Pro is a PC, in Tablet form; there is a C: drive; etc.

    I use Acronis TrueImage to take full system images, not to clone, but to restore. As with any system image backup software, you will need to test to make sure that it can truly take that full system image and then restore/clone it on your target machine.

    Even before I had the Surface Pro, I had numerous issues finding the right software that would be able to make that complete system backup and flawlessly restore. Software that worked on one PC didn't work my new PC (e.g., because of the hardware/disk configuration).

    They're supposed to be rebranding Ghost, so I'm not sure if it supports Windows 8, but no matter the software, just check and test.

    The Surface Pro is running Windows 8 Pro, so you can test and evaluate software as you would on any other PC.
  3. Vanz
    Offline

    Vanz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, but I guess I'm wondering how I can boot to the Ghost (or other software) OS to perform the restore? Should I get a USB DVD drive or can I boot from the USB for the Surface Pro... or is there another way? I've only ever booted an OS from a HD or DVD Rom drive...
  4. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,180
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    My Device:
    RT
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2013
  5. Vanz
    Offline

    Vanz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Super Mod...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can the surface pro be cloned
,
can you create a ghost image of microsoft surface
,
can you use arcronis to image a surface pro
,
clone a surface
,

clone surface pro

,

clone surface pro 2

,

clone surface pro disk

,

cloning surface pro

,

how to clone surface pro

,

how to clone surface pro 2

,
how to clone/ghost surface pro tablets?
,
how to create ghost image of microsoft surface pro 3
,
microsoft surface pro imaging software
,
sofware to clone surface pro software
,

surface pro and system image

,
surface pro and system images
,

surface pro clone

,
surface pro cloning
,
surface pro ghost
,

surface pro ghost backup full disk