Connected standby SP4

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by Eplak, Jul 15, 2016.

  1. Eplak

    Eplak Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Norway
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Hi!

    My SP4 is not able to enter so called Connected Standby. Is this actually not possible on SP4 or is it just mine?
     
  2. Eplak

    Eplak Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Norway
    My Device:
    SPro4
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
  4. Eplak

    Eplak Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Norway
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Mine showed the exact same thing!

    The problem here is if i try to set up a countdown with the clock-app, it warns me about this: "Varsler vises bare når PC-en er aktivert." Which is Norwegian for: Notifications will only show when the PC is active.

    It links me to a "Find out more"-page and it says that i get this warning if i dont have instantgo/connected standby.

    If you go to this link it is a screenshot of how it should look like if you have connected standby:

    How can I get InstantGo in Windows 10?
     
  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Only WinRT or Windows Universal Apps (Store Apps) can function in S0iX. All Win32 Applications enter into S3 when a Connected Standby machine enters S0iX.

    But keep in mind, the Surface devices enter Hibernation between 120-240 minutes so S0iX is only active for 2-4 hours, they call it Hybrid Connected Standby.
     
    Eplak likes this.
  6. Eplak

    Eplak Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Norway
    My Device:
    SPro4
    But the clock app is a UWP-app, so why is it giving me that warning then? Just a bug?

    EDIT: I tested just now, and the notification worked when i put the sp4 in standby (Y)
     
    jnjroach likes this.

Share This Page