Connected to wifi but can't access internet

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by BrittW1017, Feb 13, 2016.

  1. BrittW1017

    BrittW1017 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I installed ExpressVPN but decided to switch subscriptions from a 6 month to monthly. I cancelled my 6 month membership and thought I had purchased a new one but apparently it didn't work. My internet and Netflix was fine for a few days until I got an email saying my refund was processed. After that I had no internet access even though I was connected to the wifi. I purchased a new subscription to ExpressVPN on my phone but still no internet. Then I uninstalled the VPN app and still no internet. When I open a browser it says DSN_PROBE_FINISHED_BAD_CONFIG
    My phone has access to the Internet using the same wifi as my tablet.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Welcome to the forum

    I'm pretty certain the error started with DNS, which was probably a problem created by your VPN software. Go to your local WiFi settings on the Surface and look at the adapter properties. Under IPV4 input manual DNS as follows, 8.8.8.8 - 8.8.4.4

    Report back
     
  3. BrittW1017

    BrittW1017 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    When I clicked on adapter properties under wifi settings, it brought up network connections with my wifi listed. I don't see IPV4 anywhere.
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    You need to right click on the adapter and select Properties

    upload_2016-2-13_13-2-30.png
     
  5. BrittW1017

    BrittW1017 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Okay so I'm on that screen. Now what?
     
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Double click where it says IPv4 and click manual DNS and input those numbers.
     
  7. BrittW1017

    BrittW1017 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    So there was only enough spaces for 4 numbers so I just did 8888 and it worked. Thank you for your help!!
     
  8. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Glad it worked but there should have been 2 places one on top of the other, (or in this case below). That didn't really solve the problem but it will work.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can i access the internet with microsoft surface pro

,

microsoft surface 2 -how can i access internate