Connecting SP2 to a Wireless Display: Has anyone done this yet?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 2' started by deldalton, Nov 11, 2013.

  1. deldalton

    deldalton New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    I came across the following article on Microsoft's website ... Connect Surface Pro or Surface Pro 2 to a TV, monitor or projector

    The article suggests that you can connect your Surface Pro 2 to a wireless display.

    Has anyone tried this yet? If so, did you have any problems connecting to the wireless displays or was it really easy to setup?


    It would be incredibly useful to be able to do this. And, even better if I could connect to more than one wireless display at any time. I'm just curious to know more and if there's any requirements that the displays need for me to be able to use them?
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I use the Netgear PTV3000 for both my Pro 2 and my Surface 2, works well with the latest Firmware.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. deldalton

    deldalton New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks! I'll check that product out.
     
  4. deldalton

    deldalton New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Added to my Amazon wishlist ... ;)
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. Kiri

    Kiri New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the product reference! I saw it on amazon with average reviews so wanted to ask you something. In your experience, if I were to stream 1080p movies, would it play as smooth as if I plugged it into the tv via mini-displayport?
     
  6. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Surface 2 or Pro 2? The Pro 2 streams fine as long as you don't watch it as well on the Surface Screen as there still a slight lag between them, if all you are watching is the TV then it looks and sounds fine. With the latest firmware the Surface 2 is experiencing some screen tearing but I haven't rebooted the PTV3000 to see if that might fix it.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. Kiri

    Kiri New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome! Glad to hear that. I'll be using it on my Pro 2. Thanks =)
     
  8. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I didn't realise the Surface 2 supported micracast. Hoping a bit but does the RT support it now?
     
  9. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Sorry, it was never enabled on RT...
     
  10. Omni

    Omni Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Thanks I know I was hoping a bit on that one. Another reason to buy a Surface 2 :)
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. godson594

    godson594 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I have an XboX one pre ordered. I'm hoping to god Miracast works with the Xbone + SP2!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  12. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I've used an Aries Prime on both my SP1 128 gig & my SP2 with no problems.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
connect surface 2 to tv wireless
,
how to add ps3 to wireless display on surfsce pro 2
,
microsoft surface pro 2 wireless display
,
surface 2 wireless display
,
surface pro 2 connect to a wireless display
,

surface pro 2 wireless display

,
surface pro wireless display
,
urface pro 2 wireless display
,
wireless display for surface pro 2
,
wireless display surface pro 2