What's new

Considering Buying RT 64 GB

BrianH

Hi,
I am VERY new to all this and considering buying RT 64 GB from UK.

I need to be able to:
Pick up emails with fairly large multiple attachments (10MB total) using wifi.
Reply to emails using wifi.
On my laptop I have Outlook which picks up my emails from my internet provider which I find really useful. Iam told outlook is n/a on RT
Select from these attachments (Word, Powerpoint,Excell, PDF) to gather them together into a folder for a meeting, select and read each doc marking it up with comments and then be able to open and read each document during the meeting (with no wireless connection). Is PDF a problem?
I need to be able to switch off wifi for plane journeys but still able to read /modify content
What battery life can I expect in real use. I have seen "up to 8 hours" and "up to 5 hours"
Does it come with a charger and does it have interchangeable pins for UK/France?

In effect I want to do what my laptop does but not so heavy in the suitcase.

I would be grateful any help/advice

BrianH

jnjroach

Administrator
Staff member
The RT would work for what you are attempting to do and with the up coming RT 8.1 (free update available as a beta currently) Outlook 2013 will be added.

kristalsoldier

Responses in BOLD

Hi,
I am VERY new to all this and considering buying RT 64 GB from UK.

I need to be able to:
Pick up emails with fairly large multiple attachments (10MB total) using wifi. YES

Reply to emails using wifi. YES

On my laptop I have Outlook which picks up my emails from my internet provider which I find really useful. Iam told outlook is n/a on RT YES - In stable form after release of Win RT 8.1; YES - In beta form immediately - as Jim mentioned in his reply.