Cortana for Surface Pro 3

Discussion in 'Microsoft Cortana' started by Modification, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. Modification

    Modification Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Does anyone have Cortana (with the new Windows 10)? I am specifically talking using the voice recognition software portion of Cortana. For example, making an appointment or checking the weather by asking her.

    Does it run smoothly on SP3 (I hear that the mic on the SP3 isn't very good)?
    Must you have GPS turned on in order to use it?
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I use it and have enabled Cortana support on my Office 365 tenant.... works without a problem with me.
     
  3. PhysicalEd

    PhysicalEd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Not working at all for me :( When I first tapped the microphone, it asked me to set up my mic, while warning me that the RealTek microphone wasn't an optimal device. This surprised me, because hey, this is a MS product! Anyway, it set the levels automatically after making me read a phrase (same one as for voice training). And I could get it to recognize "Hey Cortana". But then it seemed to not hear anything. Checking my mic, the levels had been set to 0. I reset them, and tried again, it seems every time it hears "Hey Cortana" it zeroes the levels!

    So, buggy at this time. I hope they fix it.

    Oh, I found this related thread -

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...crophone/0c1045bb-eac4-4e20-9605-eee85cf40bd6
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    My problem is when I say "Hey Cortana..." my S3, SP3 and phone all answer...
     
  5. stsalkit

    stsalkit Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Cortana appears to run OK for me EXCEPT that she does not respond to "hey Cortana" (the appropriate setting is ON) - I need to press the mic picture in the search bar in order for her to hear...
     
  6. Modification

    Modification Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It's a shame GPS must be turned on to use any of Cortana's features including using her to look up highlighted words in the Edge. Do I prefer battery over this feature? Yes. But I would still like both.
     
  7. bluemoongreg

    bluemoongreg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Got the warning about the RealTek microphone, but went ahead with her training anyway. Much to my surprise... she's working like a charm. Finding her quite useful.
     
  8. stsalkit

    stsalkit Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Does she respond to your "hey Cortana"?
     
  9. Modification

    Modification Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You say the appropriate setting is on. Are these your settings?
     

    Attached Files:

    Cyb3rDud3 likes this.
  10. bluemoongreg

    bluemoongreg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Yes, she's been quite attentive so far. Have been in a very quiet environment all day; will be interesting to try her tomorrow in the office and labs at work. Maybe the microphones lack of optimization for her will show.
     
  11. stsalkit

    stsalkit Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My Device:
    SPro3
    ΟΚ - finally it has to do with the mic! I retrained her to my voice and now when in quiet place and me speaking loud enough she responds! Thanks you for attention
     
  12. Cyb3rDud3

    Cyb3rDud3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Seems to be working fine for me on my Surface Pro 3. And thanks for the Hey Cortana setting :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
cortana not working on surface 3
,

cortana not working on surface pro 3

,

cortana on surface 3

,

cortana on surface pro 3

,

cortana surface pro 3

,
does surface pro 3 have cortana
,
microphone set up cant hear me surface pro 3
,

surface pro 3 cortana microphone

,

surface pro 3 cortana not working

,

surface pro 3 microphone cortana