What's new

Craiglist issues

cooknu2

Hello noob here.. Well i purchased a brand new Surface pr0 3 from craigslist at a great price. I checked it over there was not issues with it and it was still in the wrapper, The guy even showed me a receipt.. I updated to Windows 10 just to give it a test drive. Well now i want to go back to windows 8.1. This is where the problem comes in. I got to Microsoft website to download SP3 image and i cant register my SP3. I gave Microsoft a call and they say it was already registered to another email adress. I was wondering was it done when it was purchased or after. I saved my recovery image off 8.1 to a flash drive and even saved a copy to my other windows 8.1 computer. Can i use my recovery image to get back or do i need sp3 image to get back... Please help..

benjitek

I'm not sure if it's the same for the SP3, but I discovered accidentally on my SP2 that if you do a system reset from Settings/Updates & Security/Recovery and choose Factory Restore it brings back Windows 8.1 -- I was expecting to get a clean install of Windows 10, but that wasn't what happened. It doesn't appear that the preview version of Windows 10 messes with the restore image, at least it didn't on my SP2

cliffr39

You can 1) contact the seller and see if they registered it and if so ask them to remove it from their account. 2) you should be able to use the image you created. If not, let us know and I'm sure someone can help you further.

OP
C

cooknu2

Yeah i tried to contact them we did email exchange thru craigslist and now since the posting is gone or no longer active, i cant contact them. I know bad move but like it said it was brand new still in the wrapper with reciept.. Now i am not sure how to use the image.
Thanks again for the reply

OP
C

cooknu2