Dell Active Pen for Microsoft Surface?

Discussion in 'Dell Windows Tablets' started by Exhile, Jan 22, 2017.

  1. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Does anyone know if the Dell Active Pen will work with any of Microsoft's Surface devices? Here's the link to the pen: Dell Active Pen - PN556W | Dell

    I ask this because the Dell Active Pen is cheaper than the Microsoft Surface pen. Also, the N-trig technology is proprietary to Microsoft so is Dell using their own Pen/Touch technology or are they using N-trig? The XPS 13 2-1 was show cased at CES 2017 and seems to be a Microsoft Surface competitor.
     
  2. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Google didn't give me any resukts for that model number and ntrig. Best bet is to contact Dell, but if it isn't ntrig, it shouldn't work.

    You might want to look into the HTC ntrig pen, can often be had for peanuts in the USA. If not, the old pen designed for the SP3 can be found at a great price here and there.
     
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,516
    Likes Received:
    1,796
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    SPro
    The Dell pen is for Wacom AES Digitizers..... from the description at dell's site:

    Designed with technology from Wacom
     
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,639
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The Dell Pen write up says: Designed with technology from Wacom.

    So this would not work with an SP3 or SP4 that uses N-Trig tech but would probably work on an SP1 or 2 that also use Wacom technology.
     
  5. Exhile

    Exhile Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Thanks for everyone's posts. Being a Wacom pen, then it doesn't need a AAA battery to work.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
compare dell pen to microsoft pen
,
dell active pen on ms surface 3
,
dell active pen on surface pro
,

pn556w surface

,
surface and dell pen
,
surface pro dell active pen