Solved Disabling Home button (not Volume )

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Popinovsky, Jan 26, 2016.

  1. Popinovsky

    Popinovsky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Hi everybody!

    We are developing application and dealing with problem with main Home button. We need to disable it, but when I disable it through Device Manager, the Volume buttons are disabled too. I know there is way how to do it in Surface app. But do you know any solution without need of installing any app, like registry settings etc. ? I'm using Win 8.1

    Thanks!
     
  2. bluegrass

    bluegrass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    St. Louis, Mo
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Excuse me for being in the dark but which is the "Home" button on the Surface? Never mind. I found it on the F9 key on the keyboard. Sorry, for the interruption but I don't know how to disable a key on the Surface keyboard.
     
  3. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Download the Surface App from the Store and it has the Ability to disable the Windows Button on the Bezel
     
    Red-Oak and sharpuser like this.
  4. Popinovsky

    Popinovsky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    By Home button I mean touch button in the frame (marked in the picture)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I gave you the only approved solution.
     
    leeshor and sharpuser like this.
  6. Popinovsky

    Popinovsky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro3
    ...which I had already known. But thanks anyway!
    It's a pitty it's not possible to change it normally in Settings.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

surface book volume buttons not functioning

,
surface volume disabled