Solved Display brightness SP3. after Windows 10 upgrade

Discussion in 'Windows 10 on Surface Pro 3' started by Moonsurface, Dec 15, 2015.

  1. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I may be wrong here but I think that since I upgraded to win 10 the display on my SP3 seems dimmer than before. Where I used to set it at around 35% for comfortable use in normal indoor lighting I now have to set it at 50%.

    Anyone else noticed this? Is the display brightness curve different in Win 10 than win 8?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I took the liberty of making a couple changes to your post. But you probably noticed by now. ;)
     
    Moonsurface likes this.
  3. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It is of course possible that my eyes are dimmer..lol
     
    leeshor likes this.
  4. Gary Dietz

    Gary Dietz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Celina Oh
    My Device:
    SPro3
    My SP3 will change brightness while I am using it own its own.It will get brighter and dimmer every 5 minutes or so regardless of using battery or plug in


    Gary
     
  5. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    It it set to automatic brightness?
     
  6. Gary Dietz

    Gary Dietz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Celina Oh
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Yes it is
     
  7. sharpuser

    sharpuser Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest & China
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Check your "Battery Saver" toggle switch on Settings, System. The display is dimmed when the battery is low, unless the battery saver is switched off. (Of course, if the dimming issue is happening even while connected to mains power, then this is not the solution.)
     
  8. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    No battery save makes it even dimmer...

    Crappy pic but you can see below the Surface which is on 100% brightness in front of my work AOC monitor which is at 75% brightness (screen control setting). You might recognise the background... Obvously the camera has played tricks with the colour balance between the two displays but the SP3 just doesn't look as bright. I'm sure it was brighter before!! I NEVER used it at 100% indoors only when out in sunlight.

    WP_20151216_12_36_16_Pro.jpg
     
  9. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I think you are right... brightness or contrast something is different. I suppose there's a registry setting somewhere that was "improved" for W10 defaults. ;)
     
  10. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
  11. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    DOH DOH DOH...

    ha ha... oops I'm a numpty. Despite asking the former poster if his Surface was on Auto brightness I didn't check mine. I never have mine on auto... or so I thought....


    Ramped right back up there now!!

    :oops::oops::oops::oops::oops::oops::oops::oops::oops:
     
  12. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Hmmm, that would be auto dimness... um, not a personal setting... :D
     
    leeshor, sharpuser and Moonsurface like this.

Share This Page