Displaying to HDMI?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface General Discussion' started by Lolvo, Aug 3, 2013.

  1. Lolvo

    Lolvo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    Ok so the micro-HDMI (display port) to HDMI cable I bought came in, and I'm trying to get it to work. First time I plugged it in, my Surface screen went blank, but not off - which forced a shutdown and restart. I can't figure out what's wrong...the cable fits perfectly on both ends, but the Surface acts like nothing's there, and my TVs are saying "no signal" for that channel source, and now my Devices charm isn't coming up. What do I have to do to get this to work?

    I just want to watch my YouTube videos on the big screen! Help :(

    This is the cable I bought: http://www.ebay.com/itm/281019237807?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649
     
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Weird...I bought a similar one from Amazon and had no issues with it, I know some adapters and cables have issues with the sloped side of the Surface and unfortunately it could be a faulty cable.
     
  3. Lolvo

    Lolvo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    Is there something I have to do to tell the surface to display out through the port? Whether it be on IE, XboxVid, or Netflix?
     
  4. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    Swipe from the right bezel and click devices...project and chose which mode you want
     
  5. Lolvo

    Lolvo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    Thanks, Jeff. I was hoping you would be quick with the reply.
    I know all of this, but just wanted to clarify that I had the correct procedure down before eliminating that as the culprit, and deciding the cable was at fault. Really bums me out, but I guess I'll have to find another one. Could you find the link to the one you bought/use?
     
  6. Padron26

    Padron26 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Van down by the River
    have you right clicked on the desktop,
    >screen resolution
    >display
    >select 2nd screen or duplicate screens
     
  7. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
  8. R0bR

    R0bR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Are you running 8.1? My HDMI out no longer works since installing 8.1, if I plug it in my Surface screen goes black and I have to force shutoff.

    Sent from the SurfaceForums.net app for Windows 8
     
  9. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,097
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I'm not having issues with HDMI out using a cable or my HDMI to Micro-HDMI adapter in fact it seems to be working better as isn't forcing me to downscale to 1280x720 when mirrored.
     
  10. kayzee

    kayzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    228
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    My Device:
    SPro
    I run HDMI and haven't had any major problems. However, once a day I have to unplug it and re-connect it because the font goes all funny, kind of like 'bold' and blurry if that makes sense!
     
  11. DOS

    DOS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    USA
    I'm using the StarTech.com MDP2HDMI Mini DisplayPort to HDMI Video Adapter Converter on Windows 8.1... no problems.
     
  12. Lolvo

    Lolvo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Device:
    RT
    After some tinkering with both TV picture and tablet resolution, I was able to get the cable to work! Had to lower resolution to 1380x768 in order for the picture to be clear on the TV. I am not sure why it decided to start working after I moved the television to another room. I have yet to try the cable on any other TV or monitor, but will post when that happens. The TVs in my home are of the brand Sceptre.

    Now I'm wishing I had a cable longer than 6 feet!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
hdmi amazom basics surface
,
hdmi no signal windows 8.1
,

micro hdmi amazon basics not working

,

surface 2 hdmi

,

surface 2 hdmi out

,
surface 2 hdmi output 720
,
surface 2 to hdmi
,

surface 8.1 hdmi out

,

surface rt hdmi no signal

,

surface rt no signal hdmi