Do I Need Additional Antivirus Protection for Surface Pro 3?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Christie Shelton, Aug 9, 2014.

  1. Christie Shelton

    Christie Shelton New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just purchased the new Surface Pro 3 and was wondering if I should install additional virus protection to protect it from viruses? I don't want something that is going to slow my Surface down because I use it to mostly to access the web. Any suggestions?
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Welcome to the forum

    Any anti virus protection will slow a computer down. It's just one of those things that can't be avoided, a necessary evil. My suggestion is that you get alternate protection mostly based on the reputation of Defender which isn't all that good. Even something like AVG free would work.
     
  3. stevenrossvanduyn

    stevenrossvanduyn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have used trend micro, kasperky, bit defender and a few free ones ( avg, avira, avast) and i am presently using bit defender now for over a year and its been very good. Also its always rated in the top 3 antivirus suites in all publications you read on the net.
    it hasn't slowed down my surface pro 1 or 2
    I only hear bad reports about Norton, and McAfee as these slow down your computer a lot
    Forget about defender that's already installed as the protection rate is not high but its better than nothing
     
  4. ipaq_101

    ipaq_101 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I use norton and haven't noticed any slow down, I think the older versions from years ago did slow things down, but they have since corrected the issue and made the programs less resource hungry.
     
  5. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I just use Microsoft security essentials desktop PC I've not had a problem with that, it takes over the role of defender.
     
  6. lparsons21

    lparsons21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Security Essentials was replaced by the newer Defender in Win8.1.

    I use Defender and haven't had any problems, but then I don't go to those sites well known for malware of all sorts either.
     
  7. Moonsurface

    Moonsurface Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    UK
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Ahh sorry didn't realise that. Still waiting for my surface, my desktop is still win 7 and I've no plans to upgrade for the time being. I used to use AVG before but began to find that bloated.
     
  8. FlySwatter

    FlySwatter Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Georgia
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I used to be a big fan of AVG before their software became bloated (and McAfee before them). I can't tell you how many problems I've fixed for other people by removing their Norton protection suites, so obviously, I'm no fan of them. I've been running Microsoft Security Essentials and MS Defender for years now without issue (in Windows 8, they are one in the same). I also run Malware Bytes Premium concurrently (Malware Bytes is the exception when it comes to running more than one AV software program). I've haven't had a virus since I can't remember when.
     
  9. FlySwatter

    FlySwatter Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Georgia
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Glad to hear of your positive experience with Norton. Perhaps they have their house in order now.
     
  10. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    The performance of the Norton Anti Virus improved by a wide margin beginning with 2014, but the suites are another story.
     
  11. malberttoo

    malberttoo Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Alaska
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Glad to hear that from someone technical, because I gave up on their stuff years ago as being too fat, bloated, and hard on the system resources.
     
  12. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    It definitely was, however I need to stress that I'm talking about the stand-alone AV program, not 360 or the Internet Security Suite. The NIS has been a nightmare for some of my customers. The majority of my customers, on their business systems, use the Symantec Endpoint Protection software managed from their server. It's very low impact.

    As a side story to the early comment about not seeing any slowdown using the various AV software, if there is no slowdown it may not be doing its job. But the performance degradation is relative to the base system performance and other applications that may be running. Using ancient terminology, every file that's touched, by default, is scanned. It is checked against a database of millions of possible virus matches so it's obvious there will be some impact.

    Several years ago one of my customers called to tell me he had lost Internet access. I walked him through some possible solutions but nothing I could do over the phone worked. When I got on-site the first thing I noticed is that he had Norton Internet Security installed, he neglected to tell me he installed it. I told him I would solve his problem by uninstalling the Internet Security portion of the software and leave the anti virus part. I did, and he was blown away by the performance improvement. I have found over the years that people pay less attention to the performance loss then they do to a potential performance gain. It's human nature I guess.

    Any time I clone a drive I turn the anti virus off first. The speed improvement is obvious.
     
    FlySwatter likes this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
anti virus for surface pro 3
,

antivirus for surface pro 3

,
antivirus surface pro 3
,
best antivirus for surface pro 3
,
do i need antivirus for surface pro 3
,
does surface pro 3 need virus protection
,

surface pro 3 antivirus

,

surface pro 3 virus protection

,

virus protection for surface pro 3

,
virus protection surface pro 3