Solved Do SP3's with factory Windows 10 have a Windows 10 or a Windows 8.1 stamp under the kickstand?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by majorgearhead, Sep 3, 2015.

  1. majorgearhead

    majorgearhead Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    West By God Virginia
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Wondering if the new crop of SP3's coming from the factory with Windows 10 have a Windows 10 or a Windows 8.1 stamp under the kickstand. Can someone with one take a look and report back.
     
  2. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Well that would be a pretty big 'little' detail to miss if it comes with "Windows 8 Pro" stamped on it. :)
     
    majorgearhead likes this.
  3. efinimazda

    efinimazda Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Canoga Park CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I just replaced (in store) my SP3 i7 for the 7th time in 12 months today after receiving another faulty replacement under the advanced exchange program.

    I received an SP3 that had W10 pre-installed and can confirm that the print under the kickstand does NOT say windows 8.1 pro... instead the newer square windows logo is present and there is no 'windows 10 pro' printed
     
    majorgearhead likes this.
  4. GreyFox7

    GreyFox7 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I suppose a few may have slipped through the cracks so if there are any they may become a collectors item like a misstamped coin or misprinted bill. Be on the lookout.
     
  5. majorgearhead

    majorgearhead Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    West By God Virginia
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Awesome. This is what I was looking for.
     
  6. Telstar1948

    Telstar1948 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Columbia, Missouri
    My Device:
    Surface Book

    ...7th time in 12 months?????!!!!!!! Man, I thought replacing one 3 or 4 times was ridiculous, but 7?????
     
  7. lonaysta

    lonaysta Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Is it possible to share the latest recovery image with us?
     
  8. efinimazda

    efinimazda Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Canoga Park CA
    My Device:
    SPro3
    How would I go about doing that?
     
    majorgearhead likes this.
  9. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    By way of a "conversation" (PM)
     
  10. majorgearhead

    majorgearhead Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    West By God Virginia
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Go to Download a recovery image for Microsoft Surface and download your recovery image.

    While I must caution, I don't think anyone is allowed to post this image to this forum for copyright reasons. However it is more a grey area, since anyone with a SP3 is allowed and licensed to use this image. Those with 8.1 from the factory are not given the 10 image at the URL I posted above. I believe MS will post a 10 image for all some time in the future.

    Mods, can we get a ruling on the field?

    EDIT: They have spoken. Follow the above link to get the image. I would think this image would present a problem to a SP3 which never ran 10, because of registration. You would definitely need to go through and upgrade from 8.1 before using this.
     
  11. leeshor

    leeshor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,071
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    My Device:
    SPro4
    You're fine, and correct.
     

Share This Page