What's new

Do you use Metro or Desktop?

Do you use metro or desktop

• Total voters

raqball

I see most people who post here (with screenshots at least) are using the SP3 in desktop mode.

Which do you use?

I like the metro screen myself and only use desktop when I need to run a program that is desktop specific.

annabanana

At first I didn't like metro so much and used desktop most of the time, but now I use metro nearly all the time.

unruledboy

as a developer, I use win 8.1 pro desktop most of the time, with my thinkpad t440p.

with sp3, my family will use it for most of the time, most likely modern UI.

so it really depends on the type of the user.

wynand32

Since getting used to using modern IE 11, I've been spending most of my time on the SP3 in modern. The only time I switch to the desktop is when I'm managing files (I just can't get used to the modern file manager), using Office 2013 (which is actually seldom on the SP3), or when I simply have to use Chrome for some reason (e.g., sending pages to my Kindle).

I use the desktop about 50% of the time on my desktop machine (no pun intended), because of video editing, much higher Office use, and Quicken. Even there, though, I use a fair number of modern apps, including modern IE. Once I got used to using modern apps, I just liked their functionality more than I expected, and so if there's a modern version, I tend to use it.

Windows 8.1 has really gotten a bad rap IMO. It's much better than it's given credit for.

benjitek