What's new

Docking Station wakes HDD on removal

logger

I am new to the SP3 and these forums so excuse me if this has been covered before. I did a search and could not see mention of this issue.

I have a 2TB WD My Passport connected to my Docking Station. It is my photo library for Lightroom.

When I undock my SP3 from the Docking station I would expect the HDD to shutdown gracefully and do nothing until I redock the SP3. However even if I use the Safely Remove Hardware option and Eject the HDD it will come back to life and spin continuously when I remove the SP3. Sort of negates the utility of dock having it do this and cause the HDD to spin for weeks continuously. I do not want to have to pull the power on the dock when I leave home on my frequent trips away.

Is there perhaps a setting somewhere I have missed. Has anyone eles seen this behavior and found a way to fix it.

hughlle

Super Moderator
Staff member
When your surface is plugged in, it can control the hdd such as sleep and activity. Once the sp3 is removed from the dock, the dock is now just functioning as a powered usb hub. Anything plugged into the usb ports will receive power. At least that is my understanding based on other members experiences.

OP
L

logger

Aha thanks. Makes sense now what is going on. I eventually found the thread at http://www.surfaceforums.net/threads/usb-power-on-dock-after-shut-down.15215/ where a solution is to use an additional USB hub that includes a power switch. Will probably just unplug the HDD when I go away from home. I am getting a couple of Dell U2414F monitors. They have a gaggle of USB 3 ports. Suppose a further solution might be to connect the HDD to one of the monitors instead of the Docking Station. That way I an just hit the monitors power switch stop the HDD. Thanks for the reply.

OP
L

logger

I found a decent solution using the USB ports on my twin Dell monitors instead of those on the docking station.