Dockingstation issues

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 3' started by Danielo290881, Aug 16, 2014.

  1. Danielo290881

    Danielo290881 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    My Device:
    SPro3
    I thought it would be good to have a thread with dockingstation issues. Perhaps this is it.

    I have seen a problem with docking station here. Sometimes when SP3 is shut down and in dockingstation, i only see the surface logo on start but windows doesnt start. I have to shut down (works in a second, no hard reset or 15 second shutdown with power button required). When i restart, windows starts. This only happens sometimes when SP3 is in docking station.
     
  2. toaf

    toaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    infront of my surface you silly person
    My Device:
    SPro2
    sounds like its turning off the tablets monitor while docked.
     
  3. Danielo290881

    Danielo290881 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Dont think so. Monitor is on when being docked. It doesnt't start windows after seeing the surface logo on startup. And this only happens when being docked.

    Without docking
    - Surface is completly shutted down
    - Press the power button
    - Surface logo appears
    - Windows starts

    With docking
    - Surface is completly shutted down
    - Press the power button
    - Surface logo appears
    - Nothing happens
    - Press power button one time and one second to shut down again
    - Press power button to turn on
    - Surface logo appears
    - Windows starts immediately
     
  4. toaf

    toaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    infront of my surface you silly person
    My Device:
    SPro2
    do you have a monitor plugged into it? if not i would try when i turn mine on in the docking station that's what happens but my monitor turns on.

    ahh wait if you dock it live. does the monitor turn on?
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2014
  5. Danielo290881

    Danielo290881 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Okay, it is my iiyama monitor. I undocked everything of dockingstation and did shut downs and restart. First mouse, then webcam. All worked great. Then i attached my monitor into displayport and had the problem while starting again. If others have the problem too, its probably the external monitor too. Thanks for answering!
     
  6. toaf

    toaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    infront of my surface you silly person
    My Device:
    SPro2
    hey try changing the resolution on monitor 2. find a native resolution for that monitor
     
  7. toaf

    toaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    infront of my surface you silly person
    My Device:
    SPro2
    ill bet 5 bucks on it being it
     
  8. dkallro

    dkallro New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the exact same problem.. pretty annoying.. Did you ever get i solved?
     
  9. toaf

    toaf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    infront of my surface you silly person
    My Device:
    SPro2
    if it's the issue i think it is. try putting your 2nd screen to clone. then keep changing the screen resolution until the monitor turns on. if you get what i mean
     
  10. ronny5

    ronny5 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Zealand
    My Device:
    SPro3
    You may find that if you disconnect the display from the DisplayPort adapter which remains plugged into the dock that you still have the same problem? If so how is this a problem with the external display? I have same issues
     
  11. MassDude

    MassDude New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro3
    Mine does the same thing in the dock ... need to 'Start' twice ... I unplugged the external monitor and the same thing. When it is not in the dock there are never any issues.
     
  12. ronny5

    ronny5 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Zealand
    My Device:
    SPro3
    @MassDude Confirm same and if you unplug mini DisplayPort from dock then there are no issues? except the fact the external display is not connected or connected directly to SP3 also no issues. Microsoft support contacted me yesterday to work through this issue, I made sure that they understood exactly what the problem was, also at their request a diagnostic package was downloaded and ran, the results of which have been uploaded back to Microsoft for review. I expect to hear back from them today at 13:15PM NZ time hopefully with information on cause and possible resolution. Will advise outcome
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
surface book docking station monitor issues
,
surface docking station display problem
,
surface docking station issues
,
surface pro 3 dock shut down issues
,
surface pro 3 docking station display issues
,
surface pro 3 docking station issues
,
surface pro 3 docking station monitor issues
,
surface pro 3 new docking station dual screen issues
,
surface pro 4 dock display issues
,

surface pro 4 docking station display issues