Does anyone have a screen flickering issue?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Surface Pro 4' started by macmee, Jan 12, 2018.

  1. macmee

    macmee Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    28
  2. jnjroach

    jnjroach Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7,735
    Likes Received:
    1,832
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    My Device:
    Surface Book
    I have 130 SP4s deployed - none have shown this issue...
     
  3. hughlle

    hughlle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Messages:
    3,083
    Likes Received:
    464
    Trophy Points:
    83
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Nothing here, bought on launch.
     
  4. Watchman64

    Watchman64 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    I had the problem with my device when it's about 1 year old. Microsoft replaced it and it has been working without any problem so far. The replaced unit's fan is more audible than my previous one but I am fine with it.

    Sent from my EVA-L19 using Tapatalk
     
  5. Oherzog

    Oherzog New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    my screen flickered a lot. I noticed that the back of the SP4 was very hot. I suspected that some dust had collected inside. So I took a small vacuum cleaner and held it to the air vent openings of the SP4.
    Since then the screen isn't flickering any more.
    Worth a try!
    Otthein
     
  6. hatuey

    hatuey New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Hello,

    Mine flicker a lot. The last time (monday) I search the Microsoft site and found the suggestion to install/run Surface Diagnostic Tool. After doing that, the screen stop flickering BUT my Type Cover stop working.
     
  7. Dirty Surface

    Dirty Surface New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Wonder if this is one of the many Skylake flicker issues, rather than Surface Pro problem per se.

    The iGPU in M3's is HD515, in i5's its HD520, and i7's its Iris 540. Is the flicker problem across all these?

    Certainly my i7 is fine. Also some low power modes have caused flicker on Skylake chipsets. Does flicker happen on battery and power? What about if you crank up the brightness?
     
  8. icelava

    icelava New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Mine did not flicker. Within around three months of acquiring the SP4, I noticed black horizontal lines across the top part of the screen (essentially striking out title bars). Then the WHOLE screen display might ghost previous rendered frames. If I was watching a video at that time, it's practically unwatchable since the ghost image of past frames would paint themselves all over. I sent that unit to Microsoft support and got a replacement.

    Then late last year, the same thing happened to this second unit. From my observation, it seems like the graphic chipset doesn't deal with heat very well. When those misbehaviours happen, the computer's already running pretty hot on the top panel behind.
     
  9. Kato

    Kato New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    Mine is so bad I have had to stop using it, displays fine on external screen but thats no good for a mobile device IB6f6Q47Tjq302RdcQ25uQ.jpg
     
  10. Kato

    Kato New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My Device:
    SPro4
    It seems there nobody on this planet who knows how to fix this, I would take it to MS but we don't have anywhere in the UK, so the machine is pretty much junk, real shame as it was awsome, very poor quality of service from MS, Have now replaced my SP4 with a Thinkpad X1 which turns out to be a far superior machine
     
  11. Wevenhuis

    Wevenhuis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    My Device:
    SPro
    No issue with my surface pro 5.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
azs
,

best cameras

,
news